Ranji Round 6 Day 1: Spinners give Karnataka advantage

Karnataka and Tamil Nadu were serviced by their spinners as their opposition teams, Odisha and Andhra. were bowled out for 232 and 203 respectively.

Shreyas Iyer continued his prolific form in Ranji Trophy with a century against Uttar Pradesh.   -  PTI

Govinda Poddar scored 153 out of 232 for Odisha.   -  PTI

Karnataka spinners Shreyas Gopal and Jagadeesha Suchith took seven wickets together as Odisha were bowled out for 232 on the first day in Mysore. 153 out of those runs were scored by No. 3 Govinda Poddar, who received a stable partner in middle-order batsman Pratik Das either side of a batting collapse. After Odisha had been reduced to 73 for 4, Das combined with Poddar and put on 93, but after he got out, his team lost 6 six wickets for 66.

Gopal and Suchith, the most successful of their bowlers, bowled 51.1 overs out of 91.1 overs bowled in the day. Gopal took four wickets for 75, while Suchith took wickets. Karnataka openers batted the last seven overs in the day safely, scoring 16.

Andhra skittled out in Chennai

In another fixture dominated by spin on the first day, left-arm spinner DT Chandrasekhar and off-spinner Malolan Rangarajan took four and three wickets respectively to facilitate Tamil Nadu’s dominance over Andhra at M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Andhra were bowled out for 203, in an innings that contained five ducks.

Middle-order batsman AG Pradeep batted 46.5 overs to steer Andhra amid wickets falling at the other end. He established a 51-run partnership with Srikar Bharat, the opener, whose wicket induced a slide. From 123 for 3, they stumbled to 136 for 8. No. 10 Bodavarapu Sudhakar stuck with Pradeep to help get Andhra past 200.

Pradeep top scored with 78, and Bharat, with 56, was the other batsman to score a half-century.


Group A

Bengal 217 for seven (Abhimanyu Easwaran 58, Sayan Shekhar Mandal 56, Sudip Chatterjee 49 batting, Akshay Wakhare 4 for 40) in Kolkata

Odisha 232 (Govinda Poddar 153, Pratik Das 40, Shreyas Gopal 4 for 75) vs. Karnataka 16 for 0 in Mysore.

Maharashtra 80 (Navdeep Amarjeet Saini 6 for 32) vs. Delhi 157 for 4 (Dhruv Shorey 54 batting, Nitish Rana 59) in New Delhi

Haryana 140 for 7 (Rana 56, R.P. Sharma 42 batting, Krishna Das 4 for 44) in Lahli

Group B

Andhra Pradesh 203 (A.G. Pradeep 78, Bharat 56, D.T. Chandrasekar 4 for 41) vs. Tamil Nadu 0 for 0 in Chennai

Railways 256 (Wakaskar 73, V. Cheluvaraj 50, Jalaj Saxena 8 for 96) vs. Madhya Pradesh 7 for 2 in Gwalior

Mumbai 407 for 4 (Shreyas Iyer 137, Rohit Sharma 110 batting, Herwadkar 58, Yadav 58) vs. Uttar Pradesh in Mumbai

Gujarat 281 for 4 (Panchal 128, Smit Patel 57, Juneja 50 batting) vs. Baroda in Valsad

Group C

Jharkhand 304 for 3 (Anand Singh 124, Ishan Kishan 109, Tiwary 52 batting) vs. Jammu and Kashmir in Jamshedpur

Goa 239 (Darshan Misal 106 not out, R.R. Singh 45) vs. Saurashtra 4 for 0 in Rajkot

Kerala 223 for 4 (Rohan Prem 94 batting, Sachin Baby 70) vs. Tripura in Malappuram

Himachal Pradesh 352 for 4 (Dogra 174 batting, Gangta 93 batting) vs. Services in Dharamsala

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :