IND v ENG: Squads for ODI, T20 announced

The BCCI announced on Friday the squads for the upcoming ODI and T20 series against England. As expected, following M. S. Dhoni's resignation as skipper, Virat Kohli was named the captain of the side.

K. Pichumani

Virat Kohli has been named the captain for the ODIs and the T20s against England.   -  K. Pichumani

M. S. Dhoni will play under Virat Kohli’s captaincy in the India ODI and T20 teams for the forthcoming matches against England. Yuvraj Singh’s form in domestic cricket earned him the selectors’ nod in both formats against the visiting team. Hardik Pandya figures in both squads, after satisfying selectors of his fitness, following extensive tests at the National Cricket Academy.

Meanwhile, veteran pacer Ashish Nehra has been named in the T20 squad and one tour game.

M. S. K. Prasad, chairman of the senior selection committee, justified Dhoni’s appointment as India A skipper for the first warm-up game against England. “He is the best person to look after youngsters. Dhoni is a captain by nature and leads from the front,” he said.

Ajinkya Rahane will captain the second warm-up match, where Rishabh Pant is the specialist wicket-keeper and Dhoni is a notable exclusion. Both games will be held at the Cricket Club of India.

Prasad informed that Kohli was in touch via Skype with the senior selectors, assembled at the Cricket Centre, before names were finalised for the two warm-up games, the ODI squad and the T20 squad. The BCCI Chief Executive Officer, Rahul Johri, convened the selection committee meeting, the former clarified.

ODI squad: Virat Kohli (captain), K L Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, M S Dhoni, Manish Pandey, Kedhar Jadhav, Yurvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav

T20 squad: Virat Kohli (captain), K L Rahul, Mandeep Singh, M S Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Yuvraj Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jaspreet Bumrah, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Manishh Pandey, Ashish Nehra.

India A (first warm-up): M S Dhoni (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Mandeep Singh, Ambati Rayudu, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ashish Nehra, Mohit Sharma, Siddarth Kaul.

India A (second warm-up): Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Rishab Pant, Suresh Raina, Deepak Hooda, Ishank Jaggi, Sheldon Jackson, Vijay Shankar, Shabaz Nadeem, Parvez Rasool, Vinay Kumar, Pradeep Sangwan, Ashoke Dinda.

> Read: Drama ahead of meeting

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :