India vs South Africa, 5th ODI: Mithali Raj and Co. to play for pride

South Africa sealed the series 3-1 in the fourth ODI but Mithali Raj's young side has unfinished business.

India women will aim to end the ODI series on a high.   -  Special Arrangement

It is a challenge for India to be efficient in unfriendly bowling conditions.

India did fight without its bowling spearhead Jhulan Goswami in the fourth one-dayer. The team also posted its best total of 266 when the openers failed to fire.

There are a lot of positives for the Indian team, even as it trails 1-3 in the series, having lost three matches when batting first.

It is a challenge for both the teams to win a match after losing the toss.

READ| Mithali Raj: Shafali Verma is definitely in the radar for ODIs

There is no doubt that South Africa has responded better to the conditions, to build on the luck of winning toss. Its catching and fielding have been exceptional.

The batting has fared brilliantly with the openers Lizelle Lee and Laura Wolvaardt playing a significant role. They scored 442 runs in the four matches.

From starting the innings with two sixes in the first over, and winding up the show with two fours in the 29th over, opener Smriti Mandhana was top class in the second one-dayer that India won. Smriti, along with Harmanpreet Kaur, has the ability to help India win matches, even while batting first in these conditions.

READ| India vs South Africa: SA women shock India, claim series after record chase

When Punam Raut scored a flawless century in the fourth, the Indian bowling was below par and unable to extinguish the Proteas batting fire power.

On the eve of the fifth match, leg spinner Poonam Yadav did concede, while addressing the media, that the spinners had the onus to stop the run flow, if unable to take wickets.

Both the batting and bowling have to be better if India aspires to bridge the gap in the five-match series.

READ| Punam Raut: Have worked on improving my strike-rate  


India: Mithali Raj (captain), Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Punam Raut, Priya Punia, Yastika Bhatia, Harmanpreet Kaur, D Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Swetha Verma, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav, C Prathyusha, Monica Patel.

South Africa: Sune Luus (captain), Ayabonga Khaka, Shabnim Ismail, Laura Wolvaardt, Trisha Chetty, Sinalo Jafta, Tasmin Britz, Marizanne Kapp, Nondumiso Shangase, Lizelle Lee, Anneke Bosch, Faye Tunnicliffe, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Mignon du Preez, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Tumi Sekhukhune.

Match Starts at 9am IST.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :