Continuing its unbeaten-run in the tournament, India downed Bangladesh by seven wickets in the final to win the Under-19 one-day cricket tri-series crown here at the Jadavpur university Salt Lake Campus ground on Sunday. Preserving his best for the decider, Sarfaraz Khan scored a quick fire, unbeaten 27-ball 59 to fetch the win in just 13.3 overs after the Indian bowlers had restricted the visitors to a modest 116 (in 36.5 overs).

Deciding to bat first, Bangladesh started faltering from the very start against a disciplined Indian bowling attack. The Indian left-arm spinners Mayank Dagar and Mahipal Lomror caused most of the damage, picking up three and two wickets respectively, finishing off the Bangladesh top and middle order.

Dagar and Loror restrict Bangladesh

Bangladesh was looking at a bigger total when Njmul Shanto (45) and Joyraj Imon (28) set up a 54-run partnership for the third wicket. Subham Mavi picked up Imon in the 19th over as the batsman went for an adventurous flick just to be caught at deep backward square leg by M. S. Washington Sundar. Dagar clean bowled Shanto in the next over to make it 68 for four. Dagar and Lomror ran through the rest of the Bangladesh batting, with Avesh Khan and Mavi picking one each towards the end, to see the visitor’s innings fold up at 116.

India started the chase well but lost its way a bit losing three wickets between the fifth and seventh overs. Rishabh Pant (26), who became the man-of-the-tournament for being the most prolific batsman with an aggregate of 282 runs, and Washington Sundar (12) paired in a 38-run stand for opening wicket. But the two departed in haste playing loose shots and were joined in the pavilion by Amandeep Khare (0) soon after.

Sarfaraz and Bhui put up a 75-run partnership

Sarfaraz joined captain Ricky Bhui in the fourth wicket to resurrect the Indian innings. Khan raced to 51 in 23 balls with a glut of boundaries (7 fours and 3 sixes) and made it the quickest half-century of the tournament. Sarfaraz was most severe against the Bangladesh left-arm spinner Shawon Gazi, who conceded 35 runs in two overs (ninth and 11th over of Bangladesh). Sarfaraz put up an unbeaten 75-run partnership with Bhui (20 n.o.) for the fourth wicket to seal the title for India. He was named the man-of-the-match for his effort.