Highest individual, team scores in IPL finals; Sai Sudharsan enters list with 96, GT hits biggest total in IPL 2023 final

IPL 2023: From Shane Watson to Suresh Raina and SRH to CSK, here is a look at the highest individual and teams scores in IPL finals since 2008.

Published : May 28, 2023 13:11 IST , CHENNAI - 2 MINS READ

Sai Sudharsan slammed the third-highest score in an IPL final.
Sai Sudharsan slammed the third-highest score in an IPL final. | Photo Credit: Getty Images

Sai Sudharsan slammed the third-highest score in an IPL final. | Photo Credit: Getty Images

The IPL 2023 final will be played between four-time winner Chennai Super Kings and defending champion Gujarat Titans at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Monday.

The IPL has witnessed some impressive batting performances in the final games over the course of 16 editions.

Most runs in IPL finals: MS Dhoni nears top three

Only two batters have scored centuries in the IPL finals since 2008. Wriddhiman Saha became the first to achieve the feat during the IPL 2014 final when he slammed an unbeaten 115 against Kolkata Knight Riders at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. Saha would, however, end up on the losing side as KKR chased down the total for a three-wicket win.

Man of the Match winners in IPL finals

Shane Watson posted the highest individual score in an IPL final during the 2018 edition when he smashed an unbeaten 117 to help CSK record its third IPL title. Watson followed up with a valiant 80 in the IPL 2019 final when CSK lost to Mumbai Indians by one run.

During the IPL 2023 final, GT batter Sai Sudharsan’s sublime half-century propelled him into the charts. He was dismissed for 96 off 46 balls, the third-highest score by a batter in the IPL final.

Highest Individual Scores in IPL finals

Player Team Year Score
Shane Watson Chennai Super Kings 2018 117*
Wriddhiman Saha King XI Punjab 2014 115*
Murali Vijay Chennai Super Kings 2011 95
Manish Pandey Kolkata Knight Riders 2014 94
Manvinder Bisla Kolkata Knight Riders 2012 89
Faf du Plessis Chennai Super Kings 2021 86
Shane Watson Chennai Super Kings 2019 80
Chris Gayle Royal Challengers Bangalore 2016 76
Sai Sudharsan Gujarat Titans 2023 76*

The IPL finals have also been on the high-scoring front on a few occasions. Sunrisers Hyderabad posted the highest score in an IPL final during the 2016 edition when it totalled 208 for seven against Royal Challengers Bangalore. RCB also conceded the second-highest team score in the final in 2011 against CSK - 205/5.

However, Gujarat Titans overrode the previous records by slamming a massive 214 for four against CSK in the IPL 2023 final.

Highest Team Scores in IPL finals

Player Team Season Score
Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore 2016 208/7
Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore 2011 205/5
Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings 2015 202/5
Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab 2014 200/7
Royal Challengers Bangalore Sunrisers Hyderabad 2016 200/7
Punjab Kings Kolkata Knight Riders 2014 199/4
Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings 2012 192/5
Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders 2021 192/3
Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders 2012 190/3
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment