No Indo-Pak series in FTP 2019-2023

A three-member panel is expected to settle the dispute, over the breach of contract between the nations, in October.

A three-member panel is expected to settle the dispute over the breach of contract between the nations in October.   -  AFP


As expected, there are no India-Pakistan bilateral series in the first Future Tours Programme — from 2019 to 2023 — listed out by the International Cricket Council.

While announcing the FTP from 2019 to 2023, ICC CEO Dave Richardson admitted that the bilateral series is a ‘complicated issue’. “There is a common desire that it will be great if India and Pakistan can play each other, specifically in a bilateral series. The issue is quite complicated I am afraid, it is going to take a lot more than just two boards agreeing,” Richardson said.

With the Pakistan Cricket Board is seeking $70 million compensation and initiating dispute resolution proceedings against the Board of Control for Cricket in India over a breach of contract, a three-member panel is expected to settle the dispute in a hearing in Dubai in October.

READ: ICC grants T20 international status to all nations

The ICC members signed a new FTP, which incorporates the introduction of a World Test Championship and an additional ICC World T20 event in place of the Champions Trophy in 2021. “This provides opportunities for 16 teams to compete at a global level with a sub-regional, regional and global qualification process every two years, giving more regular cricket to more members,” the ICC clarified.

“This set of meetings has seen some significant decisions made for the long term good of the game. Signing off the FTP has been the result of unwavering commitment from all Members to get to this point and we look forward to the commencement of both the new ICC World Test Championship and ODI League in 2019 and 2020 respectively,” Richardson said.

ALSO READ: Afghanistan not to play India in Tests in FTP 2019-2023

“We are particularly pleased with the unanimous agreement to award all T20 teams international status and the move to create a global ranking system for T20Is. We are committed to growing the game and T20 is the vehicle through which we’ll do this and removing restrictions and having all Members ranked is a positive step forward,” Richardson, also a former South Africa cricketer, stated.

ICC Chairman Shashank Manohar thanked the members for agreeing to bring in World Test championships in the list. “I would like to commend our Members on reaching an agreement on the FTP which means the ICC World Test Championship and ODI league are now cemented into the calendar. Extending international status for all T20 bilateral games and creating a global rankings table is a positive step forward in growing cricket around the world using the shortest format of our game,” Manohar, whose first two-year-term ends in June, said.

The ICC CEO, on his part, agreed that the council will shortlist individuals who will help develop behaviour and culture across teams. “We are currently in the process of confirming the individuals to support us on this review and they will meet alongside the Cricket Committee in May and make recommendations to the Board in June,” he added.

FTP structure 2019-2023

ICC Cricket World Cup: 2019, 2023

ICC World T20: 2020, 2021

ICC World Test Championship Final: 2021, 2023

World Test Championship; Cycle 1: 2019-2021, Cycle 2 – 2021-2023

ICC Cricket World Cup Qualification League: 2020-2022

All bilateral Tests, ODIs and T20Is outside of the above competitions

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :