Ranji Trophy: Hyderabad eyes first outright win of the season

Hyderabad skipper P. Akshath Reddy hopes to put up an improved performance against Himachal.

Hyderabad coach N. Arjun Yadav sharing a few thoughts with two frontline batsmen, captain Akshath Reddy and B. Sandeep. (FILE IMAGE)   -  K.V.S. Giri

Hyderabad captain P. Akshath Reddy hopes for a sporting wicket which should yield a result when his team takes on Himachal Pradesh in the four-day Ranji Trophy Group-B match at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium from Tuesday.

With neutral curators on the job, the home team has no say in the preparation of the pitch and hence, Akshath’s comments bear significance as the host looks for the first outright win of the season after taking five points from the first three games.

“It is the time to record an outright win to get the momentum going. I believe the bowlers did an extraordinary job against Delhi on a pitch which offered little assistance last week here. This game, though, will be played on a different strip,” Akshath said.

READ: Vinay Kumar returns for host, Tripathi to lead Maharashtra

“We have a settled line-up and there are no changes in the squad. Hope to put up an improved performance against Himachal.”

“Initially, there will be something for the pacers and I am not sure about spinners getting assistance later on in the match. I don’t think toss will be crucial. It is important we play good all-round game to win,” the Hyderabad captain said.

Banking on batting

Himachal coach and former India opener Vikram Rathour feels his team, with two points from two matches, is a balanced one with batting being the mainstay. 

“We don’t depend on one or two individuals. We have players capable of coming good on their day against any team. I don’t see this wicket changing too much, looks a good batting track,” Rathour said while stressing that his team needs to win this game while correcting mistakes from the earlier outings to be in with a chance to qualify for the knock-out phase.


The teams (from): 

Hyderabad: P. Akshath Reddy (Capt.), Tanmay Agarwal, B. Sandeep, K. Rohit Rayadu, MudassirHussain, K. Sumanth (w.k.), Mehdi Hasan, M. Ravi Kiran, C.V. Milind, Saketh Sairam, Akash Bhandari, T. Ravi Teja, Tanay Thyagarajan, Himalay Agarwal, and K.S.K. Chaitanya.

Himachal Pradesh: Prashant Chopra (Capt.), Nikhil Gangta, Ankush Bains (w.k.), Ekant Sen, PriyanshuKhanduri, Rahul Sharma, Rishi Dhawan, Pankaj Jaiswal, Gurvinder Singh, Ankit Kalsi, Mayank Dagar,Arpit Guleria, Sumeet Verma, Amit Kumar, and Akash Vashisht.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :