England squad for EURO 2024: Southgate names provisional list; No Rashford, Henderson

There was no room for Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford in Gareth Southgate’s 30-man provisional squad ahead of the European Championships in Germany.

Published : May 21, 2024 18:32 IST , CHENNAI - 1 MIN READ

Harry Kane will spearhead England’s challenge at the European Championships. |
Harry Kane will spearhead England’s challenge at the European Championships. | | Photo Credit: AP

Harry Kane will spearhead England’s challenge at the European Championships. | | Photo Credit: AP

England manager Gareth Southgate on Tuesday named his pre-EURO 2024 provisional squad ahead of the finals in Germany next month. The Three Lions will play two friendlies against Bosnia and Herzegovina and Iceland on June 3 and June 7, respectively before the tournament.

Manchester United forward Marcus Rashford and Ajax midfielder Jordan Henderson were left out of the 33-man squad announced by Southgate.

Speaking on Rashford’s exclusion, the England manager said, “I just feel other players in that area of the pitch have had better seasons. That’s it.”

Regarding Henderson, he said, “The determining factor was the injury he picked up in the last camp. He’s missed five weeks and hasn’t been able to get to the intensity required.”

ALSO READ | Portugal squad for EURO 2024: Cristiano Ronaldo leads Martinez’s side for European Championship

Manchester United left-back Luke Shaw was included in the squad despite his lengthy injury spell. Southgate said that Shaw was his side’s first choice in the position and that is why he is willing to give the United man a bit longer. However, he added that Shaw’s inclusion in the final 26-man list for Euro 2024 remains a “long shot”.

Additionally, Crystal Palace’s Adam Wharton, Liverpool duo Curtis Jones and Jarell Quansah received their first England call-up.

England is in Group C along with Serbia, Slovenia and Denmark. The Three Lions will begin their campaign on June 16 against Serbia in Gelsenkirchen.

Southgate’s England finished runner-up in the last edition, where it lost the final on penalties against Italy at Wembley.

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson, Jordan Pickford, Aaron Ramsdale, James Trafford
Defenders: Jarrad Barnthwaite, Lewis Dunk, Joe Gomez, Marc Guehi, Ezri Konza, Harry Maguire, Jarell Quansah, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Keiran Trippier, Kyle Walker
Midfielders: Trent Alexander Arnold, Conor Gallagher, Curtis Jones, Kobbie Mainoo, Declan Rice, Adam Wharton
Forwards: Jude Bellingham, Jarrod Bowen, Eberechi Eze, Phil Foden, Anthony Gordon, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, James Maddison, Cole Palmer, Bukayo Saka, Ivan Toney, Ollie Watkins
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment