I-League Phase 2 to kick-off with Real Kashmir-Churchill Brothers clash

Based on the results in Phase 1, the teams have been divided into two groups -- Group A and B

Churchill Brothers finished top of the table at the end of Phase 1.   -  Twitter (@ILeague)

The second phase of the I-League will begin on Friday with title contenders Real Kashmir FC and Churchill Brothers FC taking on each other at the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan here.

Due to the COVID-19 threat, the I-League are matches are being staged across four venues this season -- the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan, the Kishore Bharati Krirangan, the Mohun Bagan Ground in Kolkata and the Kalyani Municipal Stadium.

READ | I-League: Churchill Brothers survives late Gokulam Kerala scare to extend lead atop

All the 11 clubs will continue to operate from within the bio-bubble in Kolkata.

Based on the results in Phase 1, the teams have been divided into two groups -- Group A and B. The teams in Group A are Churchill Brothers, Roundglass Punjab, Real Kashmir FC, Mohammedan SC, Gokulam Kerala and TRAU FC. The teams in Group B are Aizawl FC, Sudeva Delhi, Chennai City FC, NEROCA and Indian Arrows.

While the teams that finished in top-six in Phase 1 will move into Group A and will fight for the I-League title, those in the bottom five will be locked in a relegation battle in Group B.

The teams in the respective groups will face each other once in a round-robin format. The points of both the phases will be taken into account.

The first match in Group B will be held on March 6 between Chennai City FC and Sudeva Delhi FC.

AIFF Leagues CEO Sunando Dhar said, "This is a completely new format, something that no team in the I-League has experienced so far. Seeing how close the teams have been so far, we are expecting an exciting fight on the cards – be it the fight to be crowned champions, or a relegation scrap."

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :