Subroto Cup: BKSP thumps Nilmani to win U17 girls title

Akilma Akter, Shirina Akter and Sapna Rani scored for Bangladesh Krida Shiksha Prothistan (BKSP) as it cruised to a 4-0 win over Nilmani English School, Manipur, in the final of the Diamond jubilee edition of Subroto Cup (U-17 girls).

Bangladesh Krida Shiksha Prothishtan (BKSP) beat Manipur's Nilmani English School (NES) 4-0 to win its third straight Subroto Cup U-17 girls title.   -  Instagram (subrotocupfootball)

Defending champion Bangladesh Krida Shiksha Prothishtan (BKSP) thrashed Nilmani English School, Manipur, 4-0 in the final of the Diamond jubilee edition of Subroto Cup (under-17 girls), thereby achieving a hat-trick of championship wins at the Ambedkar Stadium in New Delhi.

BKSP dominated the match from the start and in the fifth minute Aklima Akter, the top scorer of the tournament with 11 goals from six matches, scored after a defensive lapse. However, Aklima missed from inside the box with a weak shot on goal in the 19th minute after Sapna Rani initiated a good move forward from the left wing. Shirina Akter made it 2-0 for BKSP just before the first half whislte.

READ| Afghan girls eye better life through football

The second half started with Nilmani trying to take the game to BKSP but it didn’t have much success. BKSP held its ground and defended the goal by maintaining a very strong formation at the back. In the 55th minute, Sapna Rani gave the Bangladesh side a 3-0 lead. Two minutes before the final whistle, Aklima scored her second goal of the match.

The winning coach, Jaya Chakma, was happy with her team’s performance. “I told my team you have to take every match like it is your final match of the tournament and you have to win this tournament. You suffer for only one hour and lead the rest of your life as champions,” said Jaya.

Nilmani captain L Rejiya reflected on her side's loss, “It was lack of communication in the final today and we were not well aquainted with the playing conditions here but I told my team don’t lose hope, just keep playing,” she said.

The top scorer, Aklima, was consistent throughout the tournament. She said: "I was very happy with my execution today and wanted to make an impression in the match. I wanted to keep the momentum going. I dream of playing in my national team someday.”


Best goalkeeper: Surudhani Kisku, BKSP, Bangladesh;

Best Player: Afeida Khandaker, BKSP, Bangladesh;

Best Coach: Jaya Chakma, BKSP, Bangladesh;

Most Contributing School for Football: Nilmani English School, Manipur;

Fair play Award: Dhirubhai Ambani International School, Mumbai.

The result: Bangladesh Krida Shiksha Prothishtan 4 (Aklima Akter (2), Shirina Akter, Sapna Rani) beat Nilmani English School, Manipur 0.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :