Desert Storm 2019: TVS Racing's Adrien Metge dominates opening day

TVS Racing’s Adrien Metge dominated Stage 1 of Desert Storm to post a win amid strong competition.

TVS Racing’s Adrien Metge in action during the Stage 1 of Desert Storm.   -  Special Arrangement

TVS Racing’s Adrien Metge dominated Stage 1 of Desert Storm to post a win amid strong competition. The French rider clocked good speeds from the start and was able to navigate with ease despite the scorching heat of the Thar Desert. 

At the end of Stage 1, Metge was leading in Group A (above 250cc category) with Abdul Wahid Tanveer and Nataraj following closely at P3 and P4 position respectively. Rajendra RE also had a good run and finished the stage at P5. Aishwarya Pissay drove smoothly through the sandy terrain with RTR450 but faced a 20-minute penalty resulting in a P23 finish. While, in Group B (upto 250cc category) TVS Racing’s Sachin stands at P2 and Imran had to retire due to technical reasons.

Commenting on the team’s performance, B. Selvaraj, team manager, TVS Racing said: “This year, Desert Storm is challenging as the temperatures are at its peak and staying hydrated for a longer duration is an added battle the racers have to fight. The team has started off on a good note with Adrien leading and the rest of the team are looking comfortable on their bikes as they finished the day on a positive note. The technical team is working hard by making sure the bikes are strong for any kind of terrain and weather.”

“This is my second Rally in India and I am really happy with my momentum at the start. Although the harsh weather is a big roadblock this time, I tried keeping my focus on navigation and successfully got my bike to the finish line. I hope to continue the momentum and have a podium finish," Metge said.

Day 2 of the Desert Storm, split between two stages, will cover a distance of 560 km in Bikaner and Jaisalmer.

Rankings at the end of Stage 1 (Provisional):

Group A – Upto 450 cc

Adrien Metge – P1

AW Tanveer – P3

R Nataraj – P4

Rajendra RE –P5

Aishwarya Pissay – P23

Group B – Upto 250 cc

Sachin – P2

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :