Dhoni, Advani honoured with Padma Bhushan award

Kidambi Srikanth, Somdev Devvarman, Saikhom Mirabai Chanu and Murlikant Petkar were conferred with the Padma Shri award on Tuesday.

M.S. Dhoni and Pankaj Advani were honoured with the Padma Bhushan award on Tuesday.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Pankaj Advani were on Tuesday conferred with the prestigious Padma Bhushan award by President Ram Nath Kovind on Tuesday.

It is Dhoni's third civilian honour after being presented with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award in 2007 and the Padma Shri honour in 2009.

Indian President Ram Nath Kovind (R) confers the Padma Shri award on Somdev Devvarman.   -  AFP


India's badminton star Kidambi Srikanth, former tennis player Asian Games Somdev Devvarman and weightlifter Saikhom Mirabai Chanu were conferred with the Padma Shri award.

President Ram Nath Kovind confers Padma Shri on badminton player Kidambi Srikanth.   -  Shanker Chakravarty


The 25-year-old shuttler, who won the Arjuna Award in 2015, is the second youngest sportsperson in receive the Padma Shri honour. Sindhu received the honour at the age of 19.

Murlikant Petkar, India's first Paralympic gold medalist, was also honoured with the Padma Shri award. Petkar won an individual gold medal in the 1972 Summer Paralympics in the 50m freestyle swimming.

Murlikant Petkar is India's first Paralympic gold medalist.   -  PTI


Padma Bhushan is the the third highest civilian honour in the country, after Bharat Ratna and Padma Vibhushan. Padma Shri is the fourth highest honour.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :