New record for Rohit Sharma; Indians dominate batting leaderboards

Rohit Sharma is the first Indian to hold the ‘leading run-getter in Twenty20 International cricket' and more stats.

Rohit Sharma bats against New Zealand during the Twenty20 International at Seddon Park in Auckland on February 10.   -  AP


The number of batsmen who held the title ‘leading run-getter in Twenty20 International cricket.’ Rohit Sharma, the latest entrant, achieved this in the recent T20I match at Auckland, thus also becoming the first Indian to achieve this rare accolade. Kiwi Brendon McCullum held the title the longest – eight years, 11 months, 30 days.

Leading run-getters in T20I cricket – how the record changed hands

BatsmanCountryPeriodLengthFinal tally
Ricky PontingAustraliaFebruary 17, 2005 – February 23, 2006One year, seven days401
Graeme SmithSouth AfricaFebruary 24, 2006 – September 1, 2007One year, six months, nine days982
Misbah-ul-HaqPakistanSeptember 2, 2007 – February 16, 2009One year, five months, 15 days788
Brendon McCullumNew ZealandFebruary 17, 2009 – February 15, 2018Eight years, 11 months, 30 days2,140
Martin Guptill*New ZealandFebruary 16, 2018 – February 7, 201911 months, 23 days2,272
Rohit Sharma*IndiaFebruary 8, 2019 onwardsSeven days2,326

*Current players


The number of Indian batsmen who are now the leading run-getters in the three formats of international cricket. Incidentally, this is the first time in international cricket that players from the same country are leading run-getters in all three formats. Incidentally, these batsmen also have hit the most centuries in each of the formats – 51 by Tendulkar in Tests, 49 by Tendulkar in One-Day Internationals and four by Rohit Sharma in T20Is.

Leading run-getters in the three formats of international cricket

FormatBatsmanFinal tallyBecame leaderRecord held for
TestsSachin Tendulkar15,921October 17, 200810 years, three months, 29 days
ODIsSachin Tendulkar18426October 15, 200018 years, four months
T20IsRohit Sharma2,236February 8, 2019Seven days



The number of batsmen who have hit 100 or more sixes in T20I matches. Rohit Sharma at Auckland was the latest member to enter this exclusive club.

The 100-six club in T20Is

BatsmanCountryFirst six25th six50th six100th sixFinal tally
Chris GayleWest IndiesThird innings14th innings25th innings49th innings103 sixes in 52 innings
Martin GuptillNew ZealandSecond innings24th innings46th innings72nd innings103 sixes in 74 innings
Rohit SharmaIndiaFirst innings31st innings54th innings84th innings102 sixes in 85 innings

Note: Next on the list are Colin Munro (92 sixes in 49 innings), Brendon McCullum (91 sixes in 70 innings) and Shane Watson (83 sixes in 56 innings).


The number of sixes hit during the recent three-match bilateral T20I series between New Zealand and India is now the most sixes hit in a single bilateral T20I series.

Most sixes hit in a bilateral T20I series

SixesCountriesBalls/sixHostSeasonSeries result
56New Zealand (30) vs India (26)12.68New Zealand2018-19New Zealand won 2-1
55Afghanistan (34) vs Ireland (21)11.91India2016-17Afghanistan won 3-0
49South Africa (25) vs West Indies (24)14.47South Africa2014-15West Indies won 2-1
47England (26) vs New Zealand (21)14.36New Zealand2012-13England won 2-1
47Australia (24) South Africa (23)15.23South Africa2015-16Australia won 2-1


Queries Corner

How often have two batsmen managed 150-plus scores in the same Test innings on the opening day? – Ramesh Narayan, Surat.

The recent Canberra Test provided the 10th such instance in Test cricket, when both Joe Burns and Travis Head managed a 150-plus score on the opening day for Australia against Sri Lanka on February 1. Incidentally, this is the only second such instance involving two Aussie batsmen. In fact, the first occasion in Test cricket involved two Australians – Bill Ponsford and Don Bradman made 205 and 244, respectively, against England at the Oval on August 18, 1934. This was the only instance in Test cricket history when two batsman managed double hundreds on the opening day. The others to do so include Englishmen who have done this on four occasions and the South Africans with three. Indians (M. Vijay with 155 and Virat Kohli with 156 not out against Sri Lanka at Delhi on December 2, 2017) have achieved this once!

In the Bridgetown Test match, West Indian Roston Chase claimed eight wickets in England’s second innings without having bowled a single ball in the first innings. Is this the first time in Test cricket? – Ajay Jha, Patna.

Yes, this is the first time a bowler has claimed eight or more wickets in a Test match without bowling in the first innings. Prior to this, only two bowlers have managed to claim a seven-wicket haul in the second innings without delivering a single ball in the first innings. The full list:

Second innings tallyOversBowlerCountryOppositionVenueMonth, yearResult
8/6021.4Roston ChaseWest IndiesEnglandBridgetownJanuary 2019West Indies won
7/286.5Hugh TrumbleAustraliaEnglandMelbourneMarch 1904Australia won
7/5635Johnny WardleEnglandPakistanThe OvalAugust 1954Pakistan won


At how many grounds have Australia hosted a Test match? Which country has hosted Test matches at most grounds? – Suresh Nandi, Cuttack.

The Manuka Oval in Canberra became the 118th ground to host a Test match. It was Australia’s 11th Test ground. Also, in December 2018, Australia had hosted a Test at the Optus Stadium at Perth against India – its 10th Test ground. Incidentally, India has the distinction of hosting Test matches at the most number of grounds – 27.

12West Indies
11Australia, South Africa
8New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh
3Zimbabwe, UAE

*Includes Test played at Dhaka, then part of East Pakistan till 1971.

How many sides have won successive Ranji Trophy titles? – Anil Nalawade, Nagpur.

Vidarbha recently became the sixth side to win successive Ranji Trophy titles. Bombay was the first to do so in 1935-36. It had also won it the previous season of 1934-35 (the inaugural Ranji season). The Bombay side from 1958-59 to 1972-73 won the Ranji title for 15 consecutive seasons – a world record among domestic sides that have won most consecutive national titles.

Most Ranji Trophy titles in successive seasons

15Bombay (1959-1973)
3Bombay (1975-1977)
2Bombay (1935-1936, 1956-1957, 1984-1985, 1994-1995, 2003-2004, 2008-2009)
2Maharashtra (1940-1941)
2Delhi (1979-1980)
2Karnataka (1998-1999, 2014-2015)
2Rajasthan (2011-2012)
2Vidarbha (2018-2019)

Note: All figures above are updated as on February 15, 2019.



For more updates, follow Sportstar on :