Federation Cup: Neeraj Chopra clinches javelin gold

The world junior record holder set the tone for the evening at the 21st Federation Cup athletics championship with the first throw of 85.63, followed by 82.11, 81.71, 82.74 and 83.91, with a ‘no mark’ on the third throw.

Javelin gold medallist Neeraj Chopra, with silver medallist Davinder Singh Kang (left) and Abhishek Singh.   -  Kamesh Srinivasan

Archana Adhav (557) of Maharashtra leads in the 800-metre sprint on her way to gold, while Olympian and favourite Tintu Luka (right) collapses out of the track.   -  Kamesh Srinivasan

World junior record holder Neeraj Chopra clinched gold in the men’s javelin event with a throw of 85.63 metres on the second day of the 21st Federation Cup athletics championship at the Netaji Subhash National Institute of Sports Complex on Friday.

“I am happy to maintain a good standard and look forward to winning medals in the Asian championship and World Championship,” said the 19-year-old Neeraj who has recently joined the Rajputana Rifles. He set the tone for the evening with the first throw of 85.63, followed by 82.11, 81.71, 82.74 and 83.91, with a ‘no mark’ on the third throw.

It inspired the rest and that saw Davinder Singh Kang, who has also qualified for the World Championship, throw 83.82 with his fourth throw for the silver. He also had an 81.28, on the sixth throw. Of course, the two had set the bar high, and the third could not catch up to such exacting standards as Abhishek Singh won the bronze with a throw of 77.00 metres.


There was a dramatic twist to the women’s 800 metres, as Tintu Luka, affected by the heat, collapsed on the track just before the end of the first lap and had to be helped out. In fact, three athletes did not finish. Archana Adhav of Maharashtra pipped Lili Das of West Bengal for the gold. G.K. Vijayakumari, who had beaten Tintu in the heats on Thursday, had to settle for the bronze.


In men’s 800 metres, Amoj Jacob of Delhi sprang a surprise by beating Jinson Johnson, while Sajeesh Joseph ended eighth. In men’s shot put, Tajinder Pal Singh Toor clinched the gold with a throw of 20.40 metres, ahead of Jasdeep Singh Dhillon and Omprakash Singh Karhana.

In women’s 200 metres, Srabani Nanda, who has been on a long training stint abroad, clocked 23.57 seconds to beat Dutee Chand by 0.03 second. It was Odisha again in men’s 200 metres, as Amiya Kumar Mallick won the gold ahead of Sanjeet and Praveen Vamsi. Nayana James was impressive in women’s long jump for Andhra Pradesh as she won the gold with a jump of 6.55 metres. Her three other legal jumps were 6.20, 6.43, and 6.47.

In the morning, Karamjit Kaur, sister of Asian Games silver medallist Khushbir Kaur, won the women’s 20 kilometre walk with a time of 1 hour 40 minute 01.68 second much to the admiration of coach Arthur Artsybashev, who said that he was preserving his best walkers for the international competitions ahead.

The results:


200m: 1. Amiya Kumar Mallick 21.22; 2. Sanjeet 21.43; 3. Vamsi Praveen 21.78.

800m: 1. Amoj Jacob 1:50.54; 2. Jinson Johnson 1:50.83; 3. Vishwambhar Kolekar 1:50.92.

Long jump: 1. Ankit Sharma 7.80; 2. S.E. Samsheer 7.67; 3. Siddharth Mohan Naik 7.66.

Javelin: 1. Neeraj Chopra 85.63 (NMR, old 79.65, Davinder Singh, Bengaluru, 2015); 2. Davinder Singh Kang 83.82; 3. Abhishek Singh 77.00.

Shot put: 1. Tajinder Pal Singh Toor 20.40; 2. Jasdeep Singh Dhillon 19.46; 2. Omprakash Singh Karhana 19.30.

Decathlon: 1. Jagtar Singh 6267; 2. Abhishek Shetty 6194; 3. Amolak Singh 6108.


200m: 1. Srabani Nanda 23.57; 2. Dutee Chand 23.60; 3. H.M. Jyothi 24.37.

800m: 1. Archana Adhav 2:05.66; 2. Lili Das 2:05.93; 3. G.K. Vijayakumari 2:07.37.

Long jump: 1. Nayana James 6.55; 2. V. Neena 6.30; 3. G. Karthika 6.05.

20 km walk: 1. Karamjit Kaur 1:40.01.68; 2. B. Soumya 1:41:03.16; 3. Rani Yadav 1:42:22.32.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :