Junior Athletics: Tejaswin betters national high jump record

Standing over six feet, Tejaswin Shankar surpassed the senior National mark of 2.25m set by Hari Shankar Roy in the Asian All Stars meet in Singapore in 2004.

national junior

Tejaswin Shankar cleared 2.24m and followed it with the record jump.   -  M. Periasamy

Even as the day was coming to a close, Tejaswin Shankar took everybody by surprise with a magical jump of 2.26m for the gold and a new National record in the under-18 boys’ high jump on the opening day of the Sri Krishna 32nd National junior athletics championship at the Nehru Stadium here on Thursday.

Standing over six feet, the Class XII student of Sardar Patel Vidyalaya surpassed the senior National mark of 2.25m set by Hari Shankar Roy in the Asian All Stars meet in Singapore in 2004.

Only a couple of months ago, Tejaswin scaled 2.22m in the open Nationals at Lucknow. Obviously, all eyes were on this young man from Delhi.

The 17-year-old stayed calm right through. He cleared 2.24m before the record jump.

“In big meets like these, I do not know what happens to me. I know everybody is watching, but my eyes are only on the bar and the rest I believe is magic. There’s some divine power that keeps pushing me to the next level,” said Tejaswin.

Haryana’s Sahil Silwal also grabbed the crowd's attention breaking the under-16 discus throw National record. The well-built class ten student of Bhiwani GSSS released the smoothly tapered 1.5kg wooden plate to a distance of 53.96m in his first attempt, bettering N. R. Abhay Gupta's 53.02m last year.

The results (final):

Boys: U-14:

Long jump: 1. Aditya Kumar Singh (UP) 6.18m, 2. S. Arya (Kar) 6.11, 3. Sandeep Singh (Pun) 6.05.
U-16: 2000m: 1. Vikas (Har) 5:31.87 (NR), 2. Avdesh Nagar (Del) 5:32.51, 3. Anil Bambaniya (Guj) 5:34.81.
Discus: 1. Sahil Silwal (Har) 53.96m (NR), 2. Sourabh (Har) 52.65, 3. Ajay (HP) 52.50.
High jump: 1. Shanawaz Khan (Del) 2.02m (NMR), 2. Varun Kakran (UP) 1,95m, 3. Robindeep Singh (Punj) 1.89m).

Boys: U-18:

1500m: 1. Shankar (Har) 3:53.63 (NMR), 2. Ajit Kumar (Guj) 3:53.79, 3. Rakesh Mandal (Uttk) 3:56.29.
Javelin: 1. Vipin Sangwan (Del) 66.69m, 2. Anand Singh (Bih) 65.22, 3. Vinay Kumar (Raj) 63.78.
High jump: 1. Tejaswin Shankar (Del) 2.26m (NR), 2. K.S. Anandhu (Ker) 2.04, 3. Nishant (Del) 2.02.

Junior men: U-20:

1500m: 1. Dinesh Lathwal (Har) 3:56.08, 2. Sahil Thakran (Har) 3:57.19, 3. Abin Sajan (Ker) 3:58.36.
5000m: 1. Murli Gavit (Guj) 14:40.69s, 2. Mohan Saini (Utk) 14:43,69s, 3. Vijay Rathee (Har) 14:47.66.
Shot put: 1. Naveen (Har) 19.02m, 2. Akshay (Raj) 18.54 3. Mankirat Singh (Chatt) 16.76m.

Girls: U-16:

2000m: 1. Amrita Patel (UP) 6:25.66 (NR), 2. Seema (HP) 6:27.13, 3. Sandra S. Nair (Ker) 6:37.76.
High jump: 1. Gayathry Sivakumar (Ker) 1.67m, 2. Rubina Yadav (Har) 1.65m, 3. G. Giji (TN) 1.61m.
Shot put: 1. Paramjot Kaur (Punj) 14.21m (NR), 2. Pooja (Har) 12.70m, 3. Anshika Kannojiya (UP) 12.52.
Javelin: 1. Sakshi Parmar (Mah) 36.73m, 2. Jashanpreet Kaur (Pun) 34.77, 3. Varsha Veera (UP) 34.71.
Long jump: 1. Ancy Sojan (Ker) 5.58m, 2. Manisha Merel (Odi) 5.42, 3. P.S. Prabhavathi (Ker) 5.38m.

Girls: U-18:

1500m: 1. Komal Jagadale (Mah) 4:51.81s; 2. S. Neelambari (TN) 4:55.13; 3. Sheelu Yadav (UP) 4:55.96.

Girls: U-20:

1500m: 1. Lili Das (WB) 4:25.22 (NMR), 2. C. Babitha (Ker) 4:33.77; 3. K. Priya (TN) 4:40.21.
5000m: 1. Sudha Pal (UP) 17:49.46s, 2. Kavita Yadav (UP) 17:52.78s, 3. Jyoti (Asm) 17:59.61.
Discus: Preeti Rani (Har) 43.55m, 2. Kirandeep Kaur (Pun) 43.19, 3. Suravi Biswas (WB) 41.92.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.