Opening batter David Warner decided to switch from left to right-handed batting to counter Ravichandran Ashwin in the second ODI between India and Australia in Indore on Sunday.
However, Ashwin eventually won the battle against right-handed Warner as he got him out leg-before.
The moment came up in the 13th over of the second innings when Warner decided to take guard as a right-handed batter to face Ashwin’s off-spin.
While Warner took a single off the first ball of the over, when he came on strike on the third ball, he swept Ashwin for a four towards backward square-leg. In that over alone, Warner scored a total of six runs off Ashwin’s bowling.
In the next over, Warner once again switched to left-hand to face Ravindra Jadeja’s left-arm spin.
When Ashwin came on to bowl again, Warner switched to right again. He tried to reverse sweep the off-spinner, got beaten by the carrom ball and the umpire raised the finger to adjudge him out.
Warner got out on 53 off 39 balls. However, replays confirmed that Warner got an inside edge and would have been given not out had he opted to review the decision.
- Saurav Ghosal rallying on for final flourish as squash makes the cut for LA 2028
- IND vs ENG, ODI World Cup: Mott questions Root’s dismissal; concedes Indian bowlers put England under pressure
- Premier League 2023-24: Haaland double helps City dominate the Manchester Derby over United at Old Trafford
- Auger-Aliassime defeats Hurkacz to retain Swiss Indoors title
- Vienna Open 2023: Jannik Sinner edges out Daniil Medvedev in final