Vijay Hazare Trophy Highlights: Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Saurashtra, Himachal Pradesh, Services through to quarterfinals

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22: Get the updates and highlights from the final stage of the league phase from across centres.

FILE PHOTO: Tamil Nadu's Shahrukh Khan has struck at a stunning strike rate of 192.72 in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy.   -  PTI

Hello and welcome to Sportstar's updates from the last round of league matches of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22.

Pre Quarterfinals matchups:

Pre Quarterfinal 1: Vidarbha vs Tripura

Pre Quarterfinal 2: Karnataka vs Rajasthan

Pre Quarterfinal 3: Uttar Pradesh vs Madhya Pradesh

(All matches will be played in Jaipur on December 19 at 9:00 AM IST)

Here are how the groups stack up after the league phase of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The winner of the elite groups will move to the quarterfinals while the runner-up of each of them and the winner of Plate Group will battle it out in the preliminary quarterfinals for the remaining three last-eight spots.

Elite AHimachal PradeshVidarbha
Elite BTamil NaduKarnataka
Elite CSaurashtraUttar Pradesh
Elite DKeralaMadhya Pradesh
Elite EServicesRajasthan


Elite A: Vidarbha beat Jammu & Kashmir by five wickets; Himachal Pradesh beat Odisha by 63 runs; Andhra Pradesh beat Gujarat by 81 runs.

Elite B: Bengal beat Karnataka by four wickets; Puducherry beat Mumbai by 18 runs; Baroda beat Tamil Nadu by 41 runs.

Elite C: Uttar Pradesh beat Haryana by 78 runs; Saurashtra beat Delhi by four wickets; Jharkhand beat Hyderabad by 36 runs.

Elite D: Kerala beat Uttarakhand by five wickets; Maharashtra beat Chandigarh  by five wickets; Madhya Pradesh beat Chhattisgarh by three runs.

Elite E: Assam beat Railways by 62 runs; Services beat Rajasthan by 16 runs; Punjab tied with Goa.

Plate: Tripura beat Meghalaya by nine wickets; Manipur beat Sikkim by two wickets; Bihar beat Arunachal Pradesh by six wickets; Nagaland beat Mizoram by 80 runs.

Group B: Tamil Nadu regains its top spot and is through to the quarterfinal after Karnataka loses to Bengal by four wickets. Karnataka qualifies as the second-placed team and will move to the pre-quarterfinal stage.

From Thiruvananthapuram: Bengal beats Karnataka by four wickets with nine balls to spare but it won't be enough for it to progress to the knockouts. Sagar Trivedi gets Kulkarni and Pondicherry has won the thriller against Mumbai by 18 runs. 

From Thiruvananthapuram: Bengal is on the cusp of a big win but it remains to be seen if it will be enough to see it through to the knockouts. It needs 13 runs to win with four wickets in hand.

From Thiruvananthapuram: Aakarshit Gomel and Dhawal Kulkarni have put Mumbai on the brink of an epic turnaroud-victory. Mumbai needs 19 runs to win with two wickets hand.

From Chandigarh: Hyderabad 136-4 in chase of 277 vs Jharkhand.

Action underway in Chandigarh between Hyderabad and Jharkhand.   -  SHAYAN ACHARYA


Our reporter Shayan Acharya reports from Chandigarh: Hyderabad 76-2 in chase if 277. All eyes, however, are on the other group match between UP and Haryana. If UP wins, it makes it to the knockouts along with Saurashtra. UPDATE: Another wicket down for Hyderabad.

Baroda beat Tamil Nadu by 41 runs.

Tamil Nadu bundled out for a mere 73 in a paltry 115-run chase versus Baroda and this beating means that Karnataka moves clear of TN and sits at the top of the Group B points table. It just needs to win its game against Bengal which is underway or lose by a narrow margin to remain at the top. Tamil Nadu will likely qualify as the second team from the group and head into the prequarters.

Qualification scenarios

The table-topper from each of the five elite groups will secure automatic qualification for the quarterfinal. Meanwhile, six teams - the second-placed team in each of the five elite groups and the top team in the plate group - will battle it out in the pre-quarterfinals for the three vacant quarterfinal spots.

Elite A: The competition is wide open with Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Vidarbha and Andhra tied at eight points in that order. Odisha sits at the top of the table with 12 points but risks being dethroned owing to a low Net Run Rate (NRR). Jammu & Kashmir is out of contention with just four points.

Elite B: Things are not quite as close as one would expect in a group of death such as this. Tamil Nadu and Karnataka are comfortable in the first and second spots with 12 points and a 1+ NRR. Bengal and Puducherry - tied at eight points - will need to win big as both have NRRs in the negative. Baroda and Mumbai - four points apiece - will have only pride to play for.

Elite C: Saurashtra has already secured a quarterfinal berth with an unassailable tally of 16 points. Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Delhi - tied at eight points - will be vying for the second spot. In case the three end on level points, UP will advance to the knockout stages in all likelihood with a superior NRR. Jharkhand and Haryana have been shown the exit door after winning just one game from four matches.

Elite D: It is anybody's guess who makes it to the knockouts from this group. Kerala, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra are tied at 12 points in that order and there are chances of a team missing qualification despite securing 16 points (four wins from five games). Chattisgarh - eight points - will need Kerala and Maharashtra to lose their games while winning big against MP. Uttarakhand - four points - and Chandigarh, which is yet to win a game in the tournament, have already exited from the tournament.

Elite E: Rajasthan tops the table with a perfect 16 points  but will need to win against Services - 12 points - or stave off a big loss to ensure qualification. Punjab sits second with 12 points and a superior NRR than that of Rajasthan. Railways, Goa and Assam are out of contention.

Plate Group: With just one slot up for grabs from the plate group, Meghalaya and Tripura - both unbeaten in the tournament so far - will take on each other in a winner-takes-all contest.


Elite A: At Mumbai: Jammu & Kashmir vs Vidarbha, Himachal Pradesh vs Odisha; At Thana: Andhra vs Gujarat.

Elite B: At Thumba: Bengal vs Karnataka; At Thiruvananthapuram: Mumbai vs Puducherry; At Mangalapuram: Baroda vs Tamil Nadu.

Elite C: At Mohali: Haryana vs Uttar Pradesh; At Mullanpur: Delhi vs Saurashtra; At Chandigarh: Hyderabad vs Jharkhand.

Elite D: At Rajkot: Kerala vs Uttarakhand, Chattisgarh vs Madhya Pradesh; At Saurashtra: Chandigarh vs Maharashtra.

Elite E: At Ranchi: Assam vs Railways, Rajasthan vs Services, Goa vs Punjab.

Plate: At Jaipur: Meghalaya vs Tripura, Manipur vs Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh vs Bihar, Mizoram vs Nagaland.


Select matches will be broadcast LIVE on the Star Sports Network at 9:00 AM IST and will be available for live streaming on Disney+Hotstar.