India vs Australia: Concussed Pant replaced by Rahul

Rishab Pant scored 28 off 33 balls and hit two fours and a six before getting caught towards point by Ashton Turner off Pat Cummins.

K. L. Rahul took his potion behind the wickets after Rishabh Pant was ruled out with a concussion. [File photo]   -  Akhilesh Kumar

K. L. Rahul had to stand behind the stumps after Rishabh Pant had a concussion while batting and could not keep wickets in the first ODI against Australia on Tuesday.

Pant scored 28 off 33 balls, crafting his innings with a couple of fours of a six, to help India reach 255. However, soon after the first innings, the BCCI issued a statement on Pant’s concussion.

“Rishabh Pant has got a concussion after being hit on his helmet while batting. K. L. Rahul is keeping wickets in his absence. Pant is under observation at the moment,” the statement read.

Pant's progress will be tracked overnight. A specialist has been consulted and an update will be given accordingly.

Support Sportstar


Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

  Dugout videos