Srinivasan removed, BCCI announces a slew of changes

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has removed N. Srinivasan as the chairman of the International Cricket Council. The decision to drop him was taken at the BCCI’s Annual General Meeting here on Monday.

N. Srinivasan has lost his post as the ICC chairman in the latest BCCI churning.   -  B JOTHI RAMALINGAM

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has removed N. Srinivasan as the chairman of the International Cricket Council. The decision to drop him was taken at the BCCI’s Annual General Meeting here on Monday. The Board will now put forth the recommendation to the ICC, where Srinivasan was elected for a two-year term.

Srinivasan will be replaced as head of the ICC by the current BCCI president Shashank Manohar.

"The BCCI representative to the ICC will be Shashank Manohar," BCCI secretary Anurag Thakur said at the board's annual general meeting in Mumbai. "And by virtue of being the board's representative to the ICC he will take over as the ICC chairman."

Srinivasan was appointed ICC chief in June last year after being chosen by the BCCI as India's representative to the top role which rotates every two years among cricketing nations. The 70-year-old agreed to step aside as BCCI chief after a Supreme Court panel found him guilty of a conflict of interest for having commercial dealings in the sport.

ICC rules state that an administrator who is removed by his home board cannot serve in the world governing body, which effectively ends Srinivasan's tenure immediately.

Manohar, asked if he was satisfied at the development, said: "There is no question of satisfaction because I never aspired for this."

Former BCCI and ICC president, Mr. Sharad Pawar, has been named the alternative representative in case Mr. Manohar is unable to attend. The house praised Mr. Srinivasan’s contribution as the ICC Chairman.

The top post will be handed over to England in 2016 for two years, followed by a representative from Australia.

Shastri removed

Rajeev Shukla, who has done much of the hard work in the last several months, has been retained as chairman of the IPL. He will head a five-member comittee, which also includes former India captain and CAB president Sourav Ganguly.

Other members of the committee are Jyotiraditya Scindia, Mohinder Pandove and Ajay Shirke. The Indian team director Ravi Shastri cannot be part of the GC because of his association with the national team, which is a paid job.

Hans, Binny removed from senior selection committee

The board also decided to remove Rajinder Singh Hans (Central Zone) and Roger Binny (South) from the selection commitee. Gagan Khoda and M. S. K. Prasad will replace the duo. Ganguly also replaced his long-time team-mate Anil Kumble as the Chairman of the BCCI's Technical committee.

'In favour of transparency'

While all changes to the rules and regulations and amendments to the constitution were approved in principle, the proposed rules, regulations and amendments would be rewritten and probably amalgamated with the recommendations of best practises and reforms to be submitted to the Supreme Court by the Justice R.M. Lodha committee.

Manohar, a lawyer by profession, launched a clean-up act to improve the image of the BCCI and ensure it worked as a transparent and honest body. "All the members of the board were unanimous in their approach and were interested in seeing that it functions in a most transparent manner," Manohar said after the AGM. "Everybody spoke in the meeting in favour of clean and transparent functioning of the board."

As a result of some parleys that took place at Sunday evening’s dinner party hosted by the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) and Sharad Pawar in particular, a three-member committee headed by P. S. Raman has been appointed to rework the long list of rules and regulations.

“Principally we have decided the issues regarding conflict of interest. Certain details have to be worked out; so all those detailing would be done by the Legal Committee, which would be headed by Bharat Raman [P.S. Raman]. It should be done in two months’ time,” said Manohar.

Independent ombudsman

The BCCI also appointed former judge Ajit Prakash Shah as an independent ombudsman to settle internal disputes.

There was opposition to the appointment of the ombudsman and three independent persons from outside of the BCCI to the IPL Governing Council. The Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association’s Jyotiraditya Scindia and Tamil Nadu Cricket Association’s P.S. Raman expressed reservations about outsiders being inducted into important committees of the BCCI.

Among other decisions taken at the AGM, it was decided to meet every quarter and make professional appointments to strengthen the governance of the BCCI based on the report to be submitted by Deloitte.

The BCCI has also asked the Delhi Districts Cricket Association to revert by November 17 with all clearances from the local government in order to host the fourth and final Test against South Africa from December 3 to 7. Pune has been named the stand-by in the event of DDCA's inability to meet the BCCI directive.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :