IPL 2019: Amit Mishra given out obstructing the field

Amit Mishra and Keemo Paul had brought the equation down to two off four balls when Mishra was given out for obstruction of field.

Amit Mishra was given out obstructing the field.   -  IPL

Delhi Capitals edged past Sunrisers Hyderabad by two wickets in the IPL Eliminator on Wednesday to keep its title hunt alive. However, the win in Vizag wasn't short of drama.

Needing five to win off six, Amit Mishra and Keemo Paul had brought the equation down to two off four balls when the Sunrisers fielders including bowler Khaleel Ahmed appealed in unison for a caught behind of Amit Mishra.

Mishra, in the meantime, sprinted towards the other end even as Khaleel collected Saha's throw from behind the stumps and had a shy at the non-striker's end. But Mishra, even as he approached the crease, change his angle a bit towards the ball, ergo getting in the way.

Sunrisers reviewed, first for a caught behind which was overruled after replays showed no inside edge. However, the third-umpire had a second look at the replays and upon deliberation, decided that Mishra was indeed guilty of obstructing the field and the leg-spinner was given out.

However, the late dismissal couldn't prevent Delhi from bagging its first win in an IPL playoff match in five attempts.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.

Read the Free eBook

  Dugout videos