Calvert-Lewin, Barnes called up to England squad as Foden and Greenwood miss out

Everton's Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Leicester's Harvey Barnes and Arsenal's Bukayo Saka were called up to the England squad for the first time, while Harry Maguire returned.

Dominic Calvert-Lewin

Dominic Calvert-Lewin has started the 2020-21 season in sizzling goalscoring form (File Photo).   -  Reuters

England has dropped Phil Foden and Mason Greenwood for its friendly with Wales and Nations League matches against Belgium and Denmark later this month, while Harry Maguire returns to the 30-man squad named by manager Gareth Southgate on Thursday.

Everton striker Dominic Calvert-Lewin, who has started the season in sizzling goalscoring form, has been called up for the first time, along with Leicester City midfielder Harvey Barnes and Arsenal defender Bukayo Saka.

Manchester City midfielder Foden and Manchester United forward Greenwood were last month called up to the senior squad for the first time but were sent home for breaching COVID-19 protocols in Iceland.

READ | Brazil FA expects Europe-based players for WC qualifiers despite COVID-19 concerns

Both players had issued apologies in the aftermath of the incident but Southgate had said they would have to regain his trust before they can be considered for selection.

Maguire returns after he was withdrawn for the Nations League matches against Iceland and Denmark following his arrest and trial in Greece during the close season.

A Greek court found Maguire guilty of repeated bodily harm, attempted bribery, violence against public employees and insult following a brawl on the island of Mykonos.

The 27-year-old was handed a suspended prison sentence of 21 months and 10 days but the United captain has been granted a full retrial after appealing the convictions.

Southgate's England plays Wales on October 8 before two more home games against top-ranked Belgium on October 11 and Denmark on October 14.


Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson, Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope.

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Ben Chilwell, Conor Coady, Eric Dier, Joe Gomez, Michael Keane, Harry Maguire, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Tyrone Mings, Bukayo Saka, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker.

Midfielders: Jordan Henderson, Mason Mount, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice, James Ward-Prowse, Harry Winks.

Forwards: Tammy Abraham, Harvey Barnes, Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Jack Grealish, Danny Ings, Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Jadon Sancho.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :