Eighty-six athletes per gender can qualify for the Games, with only a maximum of 12 each per NOC.


Qualification process: Singles

  • There will be 56 direct qualification places based on ATP or WTA rankings.
  • There will also be 8 Final qualification places (ITF) based on continental qualification.

Qualification process: Doubles

  • Athletes ranked 1-10 in doubles ranking will get direct qualification, provided their nominated partner has a minimum ranking of 300 on the singles or doubles.

Qualification process: Mixed doubles

  • A maximum of four athletes (two teams) may be entered by an NOC in the mixed doubles. Direct qualification places will be allocated to the highest rankings based on the combined rankings of each team.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.