Pant pouches a record

Most keeper dismissals in an season, highest strike rates for 90-plus scores, youngest batsmen to score fifties and more from the 2019 IPL season.

Pant now has the most dismissals by any keeper in any Twenty20 tournament anywhere in the world.   -  AFP


The number of dismissals claimed by Delhi Capitals’ Rishabh Pant (18 catches and six stumpings) in this season of the Indian Premier League is now the most by any wicketkeeper in a single IPL edition. The previous record of 19 dismissals (17 catches and two stumpings) was held by Kumar Sangakkara for Deccan Chargers in 2011. Pant, who now has the most dismissals by any keeper in any Twenty20 tournament anywhere in the world, went past Sangakkara’s tally in Delhi against Royal Challengers Bangalore on April 28.

Most dismissals by a wicketkeeper in a single IPL season

DismissalsCatchesStumpingsMatchesDismissals per matchWicketkeeperTeamSeason
24186151.60Rishabh PantDelhi Capitals2019
19172131.46Kumar SangakkaraDeccan Chargers2011
18108161.13Adam GilchristDeccan Chargers2009
18144161.13Dinesh KarthikRoyal Challengers Bangalore2015
18144161.13Dinesh KarthikKolkata Knight Riders2018
18180171.06Naman OjhaSunrisers Hyderabad2016


The batting strike rate of Hardik Pandya during his blistering knock of 91 runs in 34 balls (six fours, nine fours) for Mumbai Indians against Kolkata Knight Riders at the Eden Gardens on April 28. This is now the highest achieved by any batsman while making a score in the nineties (90-99) in IPL history. In fact, only one batsman while making a score of 90 or more has a higher strike-rate – 270.27 by Yusuf Pathan during his 100 in 37 balls for Rajasthan Royals against Mumbai Indians at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai on March 13, 2010.

Highest batting strike rates by batsmen making scores in the 90s in an IPL match

Strike rateBatsmanRunsBallsTeamOpponentVenueDateResultInnings
267.65Hardik Pandya9134Mumbai IndiansKolkata Knight RidersKolkataApril 28, 2019LostSecond
236.84Glenn Maxwell9038Kings XI PunjabChennai Super KingsCuttackMay 7, 2014WonFirst
232.50Shreyas Iyer93*40Delhi DaredevilsKolkata Knight RidersDelhiApril 27, 2018WonFirst
230.77A. B. De Villiers90*39Royal Challengers BangaloreDelhi DaredevilsBangaloreApril 21, 2018WonSecond
229.27Virender Sehwag94*41Delhi DaredevilsDecccan ChargersHyderabadApril 22, 2008WonSecond

Note: Iyer and Sehwag captained their sides.

Highest batting strike rates in individual scores of 90 or more

Strike rateBatsmanRunsBallsTeamOpponentVenueDateResultInnings
270.27Yusuf Pathan10037Rajasthan RoyalsMumbai IndiansMumbai (Brabourne)March 13, 2010LostSecond
267.65Hardik Pandya9134Mumbai IndiansKolkata Knight RidersKolkataApril 28, 2019LostSecond
265.79David Miller101*38Kings XI PunjabRoyal Challengers BangaloreMohaliMay 6, 2013WonSecond
265.15Chris Gayle175*66Royal Challengers BangalorePune Warriors IndiaBangaloreApril 23, 2013WonFirst
248.81A. B. De Villiers129*52Royal Challengers BangaloreGujarat LionsBangaloreMay 14, 2016WonFirst


Hardik Pandya’s score for Mumbai Indians against Kolkata Knight Riders in Kolkata on April 28 is now the highest score by any batsman batting at No. 6 in an IPL match.

Highest individual score by a batsman batting below No. 5 in an IPL match

ScoreBatting positionBatsmanTeamOpponentVenueDateResult
916Hardik PandyaMumbai IndiansKolkata Knight RidersKolkataApril 28, 2019Lost
88*7Andre RussellKolkata Knight RidersChennai Super KingsChennaiApril 10, 2018Lost
84*6M. S. DhoniChennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers BangaloreBangaloreApril 21, 2019Lost
82*6Chris MorrisDelhi DaredevilsGujarat LionsDelhiApril 27, 2016Lost
75*6Rahul DravidRoyal Challengers BangaloreRajasthan RoyalsJaipurMay 17, 2008Lost


The age of Riyan Parag Das when he made his maiden IPL fifty for Rajasthan Royals against Delhi Capitals at Delhi on May 4, making him by far the youngest batsman in IPL history to register an individual fifty.

Youngest to register a 50-plus score in IPL cricket

17 years, 175 daysRiyan Parag Das50Rajasthan RoyalsDelhi CapitalsDelhiMay 4, 2019Lost
18 years, 169 daysSanju Samson63Rajasthan RoyalsRoyal Challengers BangaloreJaipurApril 29, 2013Won
18 years, 169 daysPrithvi Shaw62Delhi DaredevilsKolkata Knight RidersDelhiApril 27, 2018Won
18 years, 177 daysPrithvi Shaw65Delhi DaredevilsSunrisers HyderabadHyderabadMay 5, 2018Lost
18 years, 212 daysRishabh Pant69Delhi DaredevilsGujarat LionsRajkotMay 3, 2016Won


The number of runs conceded by Harbhajan Singh while claiming three wickets for Chennai Super Kings against Kings XI Punjab at Mohali on May 5. This is now the most runs conceded by a bowler while claiming three or more wickets in any IPL match.

Most runs conceded in an IPL match while claiming three or more wickets

Bowling figuresBowlerTeamOpponentVenueDateResult
3/57Harbhajan SinghChennai Super KingsKings XI PunjabMohaliMay 5, 2019Lost
4/54Karanveer SinghKings XI PunjabKolkata Knight RidersBangaloreJune 1, 2014Lost
3/50Morne MorkelDelhi DaredevilsPune Warriors IndiaDelhiApril 21, 2012Lost
3/48Piyush ChawlaKolkata Knight RidersMumbai IndiansKolkataMay 9, 2018Lost
3/47Carlos BrathwaiteDelhi DaredevilsKolkata Knight RidersDelhiApril 30, 2016Won

Note: All five bowlers completed their quota of four overs.

Queries Corner

Chennai Super Kings has now lost to Mumbai Indians in five successive matches. Has this happened to CSK against any other side? – Rajesh Kamath, Chennai.

Mumbai Indians is the first side to achieve this against CSK. The full list of three successive losses head to head by CSK against other sides is given below:

MatchesLost toPeriod
5*Mumbai Indians2018-19
3#Rajasthan Royals2008
3Royal Challengers Bangalore2009-10
3Mumbai Indians2011-12
3Kings XI Punjab2011-12
3Kings XI Punjab2014
3Mumbai Indians2015

# Their first head-to-head matches.

Which IPL side has the most hat-tricks and which sides have done so in a winning cause? – Bharat Vijay, Indore.

As of May 13, 19 bowling hat-tricks have been recorded in IPL cricket. The sides with the most are listed below:

4Kings XI Punjab, Rajasthan Royals
2Chennai Super Kings, Royals Challengers Bangalore, Deccan Chargers
1Delhi Daredevils, Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Gujarat Lions, Rising Pune Supergiant

In all, 14 hat-tricks have come in winning causes. The sides doing so are:

3Kings XI Punjab
2Chennai Super Kings, Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers
1Delhi Daredevils, Royals Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Gujarat Lions, Rising Pune Supergiant

Can you please list the names of all Orange Cap winners in the IPL? – Ramesh Narayan, Surat.

Here’s the full list. David Warner (692 runs) won it a record third time this year.

Shaun MarshKings XI Punjab2008616
Matthew HaydenChennai Super Kings2009572
Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians2010618
Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore2011608
Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore2012733
Michael HusseyChennai Super Kings2013733
Robin UthappaKolkata Knight Riders2014660
David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad2015562
Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore2016973
David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad2017641
Kane WilliamsonSunrisers Hyderabad2018735

Note: All figures above are updated as on May 13, 2019.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :