Ranji Trophy 2022 HIGHLIGHTS, pre-quarterfinal day 4: Jharkhand extends lead to 723 runs, Nagaland's Bist becomes top scorer

Ranji Trophy 2022 cricket score online: All the updates from day 4 of the Jharkhand vs Nagaland pre-quarterfinal held in Kolkata.

Jharkhand, which took a 591 first innings lead, opted against the follow-on.   -  PTI

Welcome to Sportstar's coverage of the day 4 of the 2021-22 Ranji Trophy pre-quarterfinal between Jharkhand and Nagaland from Kolkata.

STUMPS: Jharkhand 132/2 in 37 overs - lead by 723 runs.

Jharkhand 63/1 in 14.5 overs: Nazim Siddiqui is trapped by Raja Swarnkar on 42 as Jharkhand loses its first wicket. Nazim 42 (48) lbw Swarnkar

Jharkhand 55/0 in 11 overs: Jharkhand's batters are showing no mercy in the second essay as well as the openers have struck at five r.p.o. Wonder what the team goals are here at the moment. Day 4 tea. Nazim Siddiqui 37, Utkarsh Singh 18

Utkarsh Singh and Md Nazim are back in the middle for Jharkhand. Swarnkar and Hopongkyu share the new ball.

Tune in to all the updates from the ongoing Ranji Trophy season on our cricket podcast - Matchpoint Paradox

Nagaland all out for 289 in 103.3 overs. Chetan Bist got his fifth hundred of the season and third in consecutive innings. In all four Ranji matches this season he has scored centuries. He remained not out on 122. Shahbaz Nadeem claimed three wickets. Bist became the highest run getter of the season. Jharkhand, which took a 591 first innings lead, has opted against the follow-on and will come out to bat again.  Technically Jharkhand has ensured it's place in the quarterfinals if the match gets decided on the basis of first innings

Nagaland 254/9 in 97.4 overs:
Raja Swarnkar chips the ball back to Shahbaz Nadeem, Nagaland is nine down.  Swarnkar 17 (28) c & b Nadeem

Nagaland 253/8 in 97 overs: 100 for Chetan Bist. He continues his fine run with his fifth century of the season. He is currently the highest run-scorer of the tournament with over 640 runs to his name.

LUNCH | Nagaland 229/8 in 91 overs - trails Jharkhand by 651 runs.

Y.B. Sarangi: Nagaland was on 229/8 in 91 overs at lunch as Jharkhand pushed to take the first innings lead on day four. Chetan Bist (79) and Raja Swarnkar (14) were at the crease at the session break. Sushant Mishra and Anukul Roy had two wickets apiece.

Nagaland 209/8 in 86.4 overs: Rahul Shukla cleans up Hopongkyu for 12. Nagaland is eight down and Jharkhand is aiming to wrap this up quickly. Hopongkyu 12 (25) b Shukla

Nagaland 184/7 in 77.5 overs: Zhimomi falls after the break as Anukul Roy picks his second wicket. Zhimomi 16(67) c Virat b Roy

Y.B. Sarangi: Nagaland 181/6 in 75 overs at drinks. Chetan Bist 61 and H. Zhimomi 16 are at crease. Left arm pacer Sushant Mishra used his shoulders to generate extra bounce and had Abu Nechim (32) and Imliwati Lemtur (4) caught in his consecutive overs. Zhimomi, who retired hurt on 5, came out to bat again after the fall of the sixth wicket

Nagaland 160/6 in 64.2 overs: Nagaland is folding quickly now. Sushant Mishra gets another as Imliwati falls for 4. Imliwati 4(5) c Roy b Mishra

Nagaland 152/5 in 62.3 overs: Sushant Mishra with the first strike of the morning. Abu Nechim falls on 32 as he holes out to Saurabh Tiwary. Jharkhand five wickets away from the quarterfinal.  Abu Nechim Ahmed 32(62) ct Saurabh Tiwary b Sushant Mishra

Day 3 review

Jharkhand rode on a 191-run 10th wicket partnership between Shahbaz Nadeem and Rahul Shukla to accumulate a mammoth 880 in its first innings in the Ranji Trophy pre-quarterfinal match against Nagaland at the Eden Gardens here on Sunday.

IND vs SL LIVE Score, 2nd Test, Day 3: India nine wickets away from series win

Even after being in a commanding position, Jharkhand, beginning from 769 for nine, continued its run glut for the third consecutive day. The last pair of batters added 111 runs more in two hours to help Jharkhand set a new highest team total in first-class cricket at the ground. It was the fourth highest aggregate on Indian soil.

READ: Hanuma Vihari, Abhimanyu Easwaran to play in Dhaka Premier League

In reply, Nagaland, which had a tough start to its journey in the Elite group, was at 130 for four at the end of the day's play.

In the morning, Shukla guided Raja Swarnakar to the point boundary to bring up the 100-run partnership for the 10th wicket and enable Jharkhand to go past the previous best total (791 for six declared) at the venue, posted by Karnataka against Bengal in 1990-91.

READ: Manprit Juneja retires from all forms of cricket

This was the fourth century stand for Jharkhand and the second one involving Nadeem.

On a placid track, Nadeem (177, 304b, 22x4, 2x6) relied on his placement to move past 150 and achieve another milestone.

Shukla (85 not out, 149b, 7x4, 6x6), dropped at square leg off Shrikant Mundhe on 44, reached his second half-century by spectacularly hammering Mundhe to fine-leg for a six. He pulled the Nagaland bowlers for a few more massive sixes.

Jharkhand's marathon innings ended 25 minutes before lunch when Imliwati Lemtur, bowling round the wicket, trapped Nadeem in front to break the second highest 10th-wicket stand in Ranji Trophy. The left-arm spinner, who got his fourth wicket, emerged as Nagaland’s most successful bowler.

Nagaland lost opener Sedezhalie Rupero when he was bowled by Ashish Kumar after lunch. Yugandhar Singh was run out and captain Rongsen Jonathon was caught at slip off Anukul Roy as the team struggled at 43 for three.

Nagaland’s problem compounded when Hokaito Zhimomi was retired hurt with a hand issue.

Mundhe (39, 96b, 6x4) and Chetan Bist gathered 56 runs before the former miscued Nadeem to point.

Bist (46 batting, 123b, 2x4, 1x6) and Abu Nechim (13 batting) held the fort with a lot of ground to cover.

The scores:

Jharkhand 880 in 203.4 overs (Kumar Kushagra 266, Shahbaz Nadeem 177, Virat Singh 107, Rahul Shukla 85 n.o., Kumar Suraj 66, Anukul Roy 59, Utkarsh Singh 36, Imliwati Lemtur 4/79, Khrievitso Kense 3/166) vs Nagaland 130/4 in 58 overs (Chetan Bist batting 46, Shrikant Mundhe 39).


Who have made the quarterfinals

Madhya Pradesh, Bengal, Karnataka, Mumbai, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh have qualified for the quarterfinals.