Mumbai Indians wins thriller, stays in hunt for playoffs

Kings XI Punjab falls four short of the target despite K. L. Rahul's 60-ball 94.

R. Ashwin (left) and Rohit Sharma at the toss. Photo: Sportzpics/IPL


TOSS UPDATE: Kings XI Punjab wins toss, chooses to bowl.

One change for Mumbai Indians: Kieron Pollard comes in, JP Duminy misses out.

Two changes for Kings XI Punjab: Yuvraj Singh and Manoj Tiwary come in for Mayank Agarwal and Karun Nair.

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), Evin Lewis, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Ben Cutting, Kieron Pollard, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah, Mayank Markande.

Kings XI Punjab (Playing XI): R. Ashwin (c), K. L. Rahul (wk), Chris Gayle, Yuvraj Singh, Manoj Tiwary, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Ankit Rajpoot.


Two teams with contrasting campaigns in the first half of the Indian Premier League lock horns on Wednesday. Yet, despite having been insipid for much of that time, Mumbai Indians holds the upper hand against Kings XI Punjab, which has tumbled to three losses in a row, the latest being a demoralising one against Royal Challengers Bangalore. K. L. Rahul, the second-highest run-getter in the competition so far, will hope to come good again to stem the rot of his side, and the combination of Andrew Tye and Mujeeb Ur Rahman will hope to continue the good work. With the race to the playoffs hotting up, a turnaround against Mumbai Indians would be vital if it has to move to the next round.

On the other hand, Mumbai Indians will hope to sustain its momentum, and brush aside a loss in its match against Rajasthan Royals as an aberration. Before going down to Royals, Mumbai Indians won three in a row to turn its campaign around. On Wednesday, at the Wankhede Stadium, though, it will aim for only its third win this season.

Welcome to Sportstar's live coverage of the match. Here's the preview.