East Bengal lifts IFA Shield title

This was the first meeting between Mohun Bagan and East Bengal since the IFA Shield was made an under-19 tournament.

East Bengal equalised through Dip Saha six minutes from time to force extra-time.   -  Biswaranjan Rout

East Bengal beat arch-rival Mohun Bagan via tie-breaker to lift the title in the IFA Shield at the Barasat Stadium on Thursday.

Both sides were tied 1-1 after the regulation period. Bagan took the lead in the 47th minute through Sourav Das’ strike, while EB equalised through Dip Saha’s 84th-minute goal.

Read: Melbourne City arrives for Toyota Yaris La Liga World tourney

As the deadlock continued even after the extra-time, the final went into a penalty shootout to decide the winner. In the penalty shootouts, East Bengal won 4-2 to win the prestigious under-19 tournament for the 29th time.

This was the first time that the traditional rivals met each other in an IFA Shield final after the tournament was made an under-19 event in 2014.

The result: East Bengal 1 (Dip Saha 84) bt Mohun Bagan 1 (Sourav Das 47) via penalty shootout (4-2).
For more updates, follow Sportstar on :