Ronaldinho, Giggs, Crespo to be part of Premier Futsal

Premier Futsal has signed up Ronaldinho, Ryan Giggs and Hernan Crespo for the inaugural edition of the tournament.

Ronaldinho, Hernan Crespo and Ryan Giggs have been signed as marquee players by Premier Futsal.   -  AP/Getty Images/REUTERS

Football legends Ronaldinho, Ryan Giggs and Hernan Crespo will grace the inaugural edition of Premier Futsal which will kick off on July 15 featuring six teams.

The three superstars join Paul Scholes and Brazilian futsal legend Falcao Futsal as five of the six marquee players of the tournament. Former Portuguese star Deco was also expected to be a part of the tournament but has pulled out due to injury.

The six teams have been divided into two groups with the top two from each group advancing to the semifinal stage. The final will be held in Goa on July 24.

Group A consists of the teams from Chennai, Mumbai and Kochi. The Chennai franchise is owned by Chennai City Futsal Club LLP, while car designer Dilip Chhabria has bought the Mumbai outfit.

Goa, Kolkata and Bangalore make up the teams in Group B. Grassroot Entertainment Pvt Ltd., headed by Bengali actor Jeet, is the owner of the Kolkata franchise, while Kannada actor Puneeth Rajkumar owns the team from Bangalore. The Goan team is owned by actor Sachiin Joshi and Viking Media and Entertainment Pvt Ltd.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :