Gayle hits 300 in the IPL!

Two batsman enter the 5,000-run club in the IPL, and how Gayle got to 300 sixes. Plus, your queries answered.

Chris Gayle is the first batsman in the IPL to hit that 300 sixes. No other batsman has managed to cross 200!   -  AFP


The number of batsmen who have now aggregated 5,000 runs in Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket. In this edition, first Suresh Raina achieved the landmark, followed by Virat Kohli five days later.

The IPL’s 5,000-run club

BatsmanAchieved onVenueAgeMatchesInningsAverageHundredsFiftiesCurrent tally
Suresh RainaMarch 23, 2019Chennai32 years, 116 days17717334.271355,034
Virat KohliMarch 28, 2019Bangalore30 years, 143 days16515738.174345,000


How they reached each landmark

 Suresh RainaVirat Kohli
RunsAchieved onVenueMatchesInningsAchieved onVenueMatchesInnings
1,000March 25, 2010Mumbai (BS)3634April 29, 2011Bangalore5245
2,000April 30, 2012Chennai7269April 29, 2013Jaipur8779
3,000May 7, 2014Cuttack107103May 10, 2015Mumbai118110
4,000May 19, 2016Kanpur144140May 18, 2016Bangalore136128
5,000March 23, 2019Chennai177173March 28, 2019Bangalore165157


The number of sixes hit by Chris Gayle in the IPL. The West Indian is the first batsman in this tournament to hit that many. No other batsman has managed to cross 200! The next best is A. B. de Villiers’ 193.

Most sixes in the IPL

BatsmanSixesBalls/sixMatchesInningsRunsHighest scoreAverageStrike rate
Chris Gayle3029.051151144,133175*41.33151.17
A. B. De Villiers19313.831431314,032133*39.92151.01
M. S. Dhoni18715.731771594,04879*40.48137.64
Suresh Raina18619.561781745,034100*34.24138.37
Rohit Sharma18518.881761714,587109*31.85131.31
Virat Kohli17721.631651575,00011338.16130.61
David Warner16517.661161164,16812641.26143.03
Shane Watson16014.291191153,221117*32.21140.90


Landmark sixes for Chris Gayle in the IPL

Six #ForAgainstVenueDateMatch #
1Kolkata Knight RidersDeccan ChargersCape TownApril 19, 20091
50Royal Challengers BangaloreKochi Tuskers KeralaBangaloreMay 8, 200121
100Royal Challengers BangaloreDeccan ChargersBangaloreMay 6, 201238
200Royal Challengers BangaloreSunrisers HyderabadBangaloreApril 13, 201570
300Kings XI PunjabMumbai IndiansMohaliMarch 30, 2019115


Gayle’s IPL sixes for each team

Royal Challengers Bangalore85842,0712398.66
Kings XI Punjab1414336379.08
Kolkata Knight Riders16163272612.57


Gayle’s IPL sixes against each opponent

Kings XI Punjab1616456617.48
Kolkata Knight Riders1616417498.51
Pune Warriors India55192365.33
Mumbai Indians16164383313.27
Sunrisers Hyderabad1111230307.67
Delhi Daredevils1313255298.79
Chennai Super Kings1211252289.00
Rajasthan Royals14142871815.94
Gujarat Lions4474710.57
Deccan Chargers4451510.20
Kochi Tuskers Kerala111653.20
Royal Challengers Bangalore3366166.00


The number of batsmen who have scores of 99 in IPL cricket. The latest, Prithvi Shaw of Delhi Capitals, missed his century by one run against Kolkata Knight Riders in Delhi.

The IPL’s 99-run club

99*52Suresh RainaChennai Super KingsSunrisers HyderabadHyderabadMay 8, 2013FirstWon
9958Virat KohliRoyal Challengers BangaloreDelhi DaredevilsDelhiMay 10, 2013FirstWon
9955Prithvi ShawDelhi CapitalsKolkata Knight RidersDelhiMarch 30, 2019SecondTie (won in super over)


Queries Corner

How often has Bhuvneshwar Kumar captained a side? – Akhil Chaturvedi, Meerut.

A1. Before leading Sunrisers Hyderabad against Kolkata Knight Riders in Kane Williamson’s absence, Bhuvneshwar Kumar had led a team only once before in his career. That was in a Ranji Trophy match for Uttar Pradesh against Mumbai at Mysore in November 2016. But his side lost by 121 runs. Interestingly, since then he hasn’t appeared in a single Ranji Trophy match.

How many IPL centuries have been registered since 2013 and how many against the Sunrisers? Has SRH conceded the maximum number of centuries since its entry into the IPL in 2013? – Srihari Rao, Visakhapatnam.

Since the advent of Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL in 2013, in all 29 centuries have been scored. Sanju Samson’s recent ton was the sixth to be scored against SRH, equalling the tally conceded by the Gujarat Lions bowlers in just two seasons.

Most IPL centuries conceded by teams since 2013

6Gujarat Lions, Sunrisers Hyderabad
4Kings XI Punjab
3Kolkata Knight Riders
2Royal Challengers Bangalore, Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Rising Pune Supegiants
1Rajasthan Royals, Pune Warriors India

How often have two batsmen scored centuries in the same One-Day International innings. And how often have sides lost despite two batsmen registering centuries in the same ODI innings? – Ramesh Korde, Mumbai.

A2. Two or more batsmen have scored centuries in the same innings on 168 occasions in ODI cricket since the first two instances that came in successive matches by Pakistan against India in December 1982. This tally also includes two instances of three batsmen recording centuries in the same innings – both by South Africa against the West Indies and India, respectively, in 2015. The recent Abu Dhabi ODI match provided the 28th instance in ODI cricket when Pakistan lost the match against Australia despite two of its batsmen making centuries. For the record, India has the unique distinction of being victorious most times despite the two opponent batsmen making centuries – on 10 occasions – followed by Sri Lanka and Australia – four times each!

In the recent Test match against Afghanistan in Dehradun, Ireland’s No. 11 batsman Tim Murtagh top-scored in the first innings with an unbeaten 54. How often have No. 11s top-scored in Test cricket? Has any Indian achieved this? - T. Ajit Krishnan, Chennai.

Tim Murtagh become only the 11th No. 11 batman to top-score in a Test innings. In the last 10 years, only three other No. 11s have achieved this – Nathan Lyon (Australia), Ashton Agar (Australia) and Shane Shillingford (West Indies). Batsmen from Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have also achieved this, but so far none from India. Incidentally, Murtagh became the first batsman in Test cricket to make 25 or more runs in each innings while batting at No. 11, he scores being 54* and 27.

Note: All figures above are updated as on March 31, 2019.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :