India squad for last three Tests against England: Full players list announced for IND v ENG series; Shreyas Iyer misses out

Jadeja, who suffered a hamstring injury in the first Test and Rahul, who complained of a quadriceps issue, have been included in the squad.

Published : Feb 10, 2024 10:45 IST , Mumbai - 2 MINS READ

Shreyas Iyer in action during the second Test between India and England.
Shreyas Iyer in action during the second Test between India and England. | Photo Credit: REUTERS

Shreyas Iyer in action during the second Test between India and England. | Photo Credit: REUTERS

Virat Kohli will continue to remain on the sidelines due to personal reasons, thus missing a Test series for the first time since making his debut while Shreyas Iyer has been dropped for the last three Tests of India’s ongoing five-match series versus England.

Allrounder Ravindra Jadeja and batter K.L. Rahul have returned to the squad pending final fitness clearance. Pacer Akash Deep has received a maiden Test call-up in the 17-member squad.

Jay Shah, the Board of Control for Cricket in India secretary, announced the squad on Saturday morning after the national selectors met an evening earlier in Chennai to finalise the squad. Sportstar understands that the selectors chose to wait as much as they could to have clarity about Kohli’s absence and assess Rahul and Jadeja’s fitness before finalising the squad.

“Virat Kohli will remain unavailable for selection for the remainder of the series due to personal reasons. The Board fully respects and supports Mr. Kohli’s decision,” the BCCI statement read. “The participation of Ravindra Jadeja and K.L. Rahul is subject to fitness clearance from the BCCI medical team.”

With the Indian squad – given a break after the second Test concluded in Visakhapatnam on February 5 – set to reassemble in Rajkot on Sunday evening, a final call on Jadeja and Rahul’s participation may be taken during Monday’s training session.

Shreyas, meanwhile, has been dropped on the back of a mediocre run in the ongoing World Test Championship cycle. The middle-order bat has managed to tally just 187 runs at 17 in his previous 12 innings. His mode of dismissals in the first two Tests has also not gone down well with the team management and the selectors.

Also read | U-19 World Cup 2024 Final: India’s formidable young guns gear up for glory against Australia

As a result, despite the back trouble having reportedly been resurfaced for Shreyas, the statement finds no mention of the injury, clearly indicating that Shreyas has been dropped for the remainder of the series. Rajat Patidar, who came in as Kohli’s replacement ahead of the series and made his debut in Visakhapatnam after Rahul was unavailable, and Sarfaraz Khan have retained their place in the side.

The only other change is Akash Deep, the Bengal pacer, having been brought in place of Avesh Khan. More than the change, the biggest discussion about the pace pack revolved around Jasprit Bumrah’s workload. With the series being tied at a match apiece, the selectors persisted with Bumrah. Depending on the way the Rajkot game pans out will a call be taken on resting Bumrah for the fourth or the fifth Test.

Squad for last three Tests vs England:
Rohit Sharma (C), Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul*, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Dhruv Jurel (WK), KS Bharat (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja*, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Akash Deep 
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment