Vijay Hazare Trophy: Porel, Goswami star in Bengal's dominant win

Electing to bat, Jammu and Kashmir was bowled out for a paltry 169 and in reply, Bengal chased down the target with ease in 28 overs.

Ishan Porel celebrates after taking a wicket in Bengal's Vijay Hazare Trophy match against J&K.   -  PTI Photo

Ishan Porel on a helpful wicket with the new ball was too hot a combination for Jammu and Kashmir as the pacer set up an easy eight-wicket win for Bengal with his efforts of six for 34 in the Elite Group C Vijay Hazare Trophy match here on Monday.

Electing to bat, J&K was bowled out for a paltry 169 and in reply, Bengal chased down the target with ease in 28 overs thanks to half-centuries from openers Abhimanyu Easwaran (51, 55b, 8x4) and Shreevats Goswami (86 n.o., 80b, 10x4, 1x6).

Porel struck in his first over of the day when he had Qamran Iqbal playing on before accounting for Shubham Khajuria as well caught at slips in his next over. Ashoke Dinda then had Shubham Singh Pundir caught behind.

Porel was impeccable with his line just outside the off-stump and the bounce on the wicket helping the tall pacer in making things tough. But the J&K batsmen did not help their cause by hanging out their bats without conviction and getting edges.

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Key highlights

The 21-year-old Porel, who was part of the under-19 World Cup-winning squad last year, then struck twice in his fifth over when he accounted for Parvez Rasool and Abdul Samad, both batsmen edging to second slip as J&K was reduced to 26 for five.

Opener Ahmad Banday was the only one who looked in any control for a brief time before he edged off-spinner Arnab Nandi to the keeper. Fazil Rashid and Ram Dayal (57 n.o.) then had a 57-run partnership for the seventh wicket that helped the team go past 100. Rashid played well for his 43 before he gave a simple return catch to Manoj Tiwary.

Dayal played some big shots with a couple of sixes in his unbeaten knock before Porel and Dinda polished off the tail in their respective second spell.

In reply, skipper Abhimanyu started off the chase with some beautiful shots through the off-side before Goswami took charge with a four and six off Dayal. From there on Goswami was the aggressor as he hit Umar Nazir for three consecutive boundaries in the 10th over. The duo added 118-runs for the first wicket in 18.3 overs before Tiwary finished off the innings in style with a six over long-on.

Brief scores: Jammu and Kashmir 169 in 48.2 overs (Ram Dayal 57 n.o., Fazil Rashid 43, Ishan Porel six for 34) lost to Bengal 175 for two in 28 overs (Abhimanyu Easwaran 51, Shreevats Goswami 86 n.o.) by 8 wickets.

Bihar: 137 all out in 40.4 overs (Shasheem Rathour 25; Gaurav Yadav 3/41) lost to Madhya Pradesh: 138 for 3 in 27.4 overs (Rajat Patidar 48, Mukul Raghav 46; Vivek Kumar 1/25) by seven wickets.

Gujarat: 305 all out in 50 overs (Bhargav Merai 125, Manprit Juneja 50; Ajoy Sarkar 3/68) won by 101 runs against Tripura: 204 for 8 in 50 overs (Milind Kumar 103 not out, Tanmay Mishra 62; Chintan Gaja 2/17).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :