Calcutta Football League: Mohun Bagan-East Bengal derby on September 1

The Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata will host the prestigious fixture.

East Bengal has won its last two fixtures against arch-rival Mohun Bagan.   -  Rajeev Bhatt

The much-awaited Calcutta Football League (CFL) derby between rivals Mohun Bagan and East Bengal will be played on September 1 at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata.

Both the clubs lost their opening fixtures of the tournament, with Bagan losing 3-0 to Peerless SC and East Bengal going down to George Telegraph.

Related: Tournament fixtures and schedule

The clubs are currently placed 12th and 11th on the Division A points table.

Bagan, which is the defending champion and has won the tournament 30 times, takes Calcutta Customs Club on Wednesday. East Bengal, the most successful team in the competition with 39 titles, faces BSS Sporting Club on August 22.

The clubs have had identical starts to their Durand Cup campaigns, sitting atop their respective groups after winning both their matches so far. East Bengal's final Group B match against Bengaluru FC will be played on Wednesday, while Mohun Bagan plays its final Group A fixture against the Indian Navy on August 17.

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :