Field hockey

Indian men's hockey team qualified for the Tokyo Olympics after beating Russia 11-3 on aggregate in the qualifiers.   -  Biswaranjan rout

Qualification process:

Twelve teams qualify for the men's field hockey at the 2020 Summer Olympics. Each of the Continental Champions from five confederations received an automatic berth. Japan as the host nation qualified automatically. In addition, the remaining six nations will be determined by an Olympic qualification event.

With Japan winning the Asian Games, it freed up one more space in the olympic qualification event with seven places up for grabs.

4 teams from FIH Pro League 2019, two each from three FIH Series Finals (6) and four through rankings will feature in the final Olympic qualifying event.

The 14 teams will be split into 7 pairs, each pair playing a two-match, aggregate score series. The winner of each series qualifies for the Olympics.

India watch:

Both the men and the women qualified for the Olympics by winning the final qualifying two-match series.

Indian men, ranked fifth in the world, qualified for the Tokyo Olympics after beating Russia 11-3 on aggregate in the qualifiers held in Bhubaneswar.

Ranked ninth in the world, the Indian women’s team qualified for the Olympics after beating United Sates 6-5 on aggregate in the qualifiers.

Support Sportstar

Dear Reader,

Support our journalism — where text and pictures intermingle so seamlessly — and help us scale up your experience as the world changes around us. Your contribution is vital to our brand of uninfluenced, boots-on-the-ground reportage that’s worth your while. Clickbait sensationalism is not for us, but editorial independence is — we owe it to you.