Records to beat at the Tour de France

A look at the records to beat at the Tour de France, which begins on Saturday.

Chris Froome will be vying to join an elite club with another Tour de France title.   -  AFP

These are records to beat at the Tour de France, which starts on Saturday.

  • Most wins at a single Tour de France: Eight by Charles Pelissier (1930), Eddy Merckx (1970, 1974) and Freddy Maertens (1976)
  • Greatest number of stage victories: 34 by Merckx
  • Greatest number of yellow jersey wearers: Eight in 1958 and 1987
  • Most days in yellow: 97 by Eddy Merckx
  • Greatest number of Tour de France wins: Five by Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain. Lance Armstrong won seven but was later stripped of them.
  • Most top three finishes: Eight by Raymond Poulidor (three second places and five third places) in 14 competitions between 1962-1976
  • Greatest win margin (since 1947): 28min 17sec by Fausto Coppi in 1952
  • Smallest win margin: 8sec (Greg LeMond over Laurent Fignon in 1989)
  • Greatest number of green jersey wins: Six by Erik Zabel
  • Greatest number of polka dot jersey wins: Seven by Richard Virenque
  • Longest solo break: 253km by Albert Bourlon in 1947
  • Biggest time gap on a stage win: 22min 50sec by Jose Luis Viejo in 1976
  • Fastest time-trial average speed: 55.446km/h by Rohan Dennis in 2015 over 13.8km
  • Fastest team time-trial: 57.841km/h by Orica in 2013 over 25km
  • Fastest average speed for a stage win: 50.355 km/h by Mario Cipollini in 1999 over 194.5 km
  • Fastest average speed of an entire Tour de France: 41.654 km/h by Lance Armstrong in 2005, later downgraded
  • Oldest winner: Firmin Lambot (36 years, four months and nine days) in 1922
  • Youngest winner: Henri Cornet (19 years, 11 months and 20 days) in 1904
  • Oldest stage winner: Pino Cerami (41 years 3 months and 3 days) in 1963
  • Youngest stage winner: Fabio Battesini (19 years, four months and 13 days) in 1931
  • Most Tour de France participations: 17 by George Hincapie (between 1996-2012), Stuart O'Grady (1997-2013), Jens Voigt (1998-2014) and Sylvain Chavanel (2001-2017).

For more updates, follow Sportstar on :