KSCA T20: Abhinav Manohar, Mayank Agarwal, Padikkal costliest buys in player auction

Abhinav, who plays for Gujarat Titans in the IPL, went to Shivamogga Lions for Rs. 15 lakh, while Agarwal was picked up by Bengaluru Blasters at a price of Rs. 14 lakh.

Published : Jul 22, 2023 18:51 IST , BENGALURU - 2 MINS READ

FILE PHOTO: Mayank Agarwal was picked up by Bengaluru Blasters at a price of Rs. 14 lakh.
FILE PHOTO: Mayank Agarwal was picked up by Bengaluru Blasters at a price of Rs. 14 lakh. | Photo Credit: THE HINDU

FILE PHOTO: Mayank Agarwal was picked up by Bengaluru Blasters at a price of Rs. 14 lakh. | Photo Credit: THE HINDU

Abhinav Manohar, Mayank Agarwal, and Devdutt Padikkal walked away with the big bucks, bought by Shivamogga Lions, Kalyani Bengaluru Blasters, and Gulbarga Mystics for ₹15 lakh, ₹14 lakh, and ₹13 lakh, respectively, in the Maharaja Trophy KSCA T20 auction held at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Saturday.

Abhinav has played two seasons of Indian Premier League cricket for the Gujarat Titans and impressed with a strike rate in excess of 140. Mayank and Padikkal are proven India internationals and IPL stars, with the latter even part of the victorious Mystics squad that won the trophy last year.

ALSO READ | India vs West Indies 100th Test: Ninth instance of two teams playing century of Tests against each other

Manish Pandey was picked up by the Hubli Tigers for ₹10.6 lakh, while J. Suchith was bagged by the Mysore Warriors for 8.4 lakh. All-rounder Manoj Bhandage, who was part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore set-up in 2023 but didn’t get a game, was sold to the Warriors for a princely sum of ₹9 lakh.

There were sizeable deals for breakout Karnataka stars from the 2022–23 season: V. Vyshak (₹8.8 lakh, Mystics), Nikin Jose (₹7 lakh, Mangaluru Dragons), and Vidwath Kaverappa (₹6.7 lakh, Tigers).

The surprise of the day was the Warriors shelling out ₹7.4 lakh for pacer Prasidh Krishna. Though a top-draw cricketer and an India international, Prasidh has not played a competitive game since August 2022 because of a stress fracture.

On Friday, however, the BCCI provided an update that stated that Prasidh was in his final stage of rehab and was bowling with full intensity in the nets.

The Maharaja Trophy gets underway in Bengaluru on August 13.

The teams
The teams (player worth in lakhs): Gulbarga Mystics: Devdutt Padikkal (13), K.P. Appanna (4), V. Vyshak (8.8), Sharath Srinivas (1), L.R. Chethan (6.2), Mohammed Aqib Jawad (0.5), R. Smaran (3.15), K.V. Aneesh (1.1), Macneil Noronha (1.4), Sharan Goud (0.5), Abhilash Shetty (1), Hardik Raj (1.1), Shimon Luiz (0.5), D. Avinash (5.3), Yashovardhan Parantap (0.5), Aadarsh Prajwal (0.5), Abul Hasan Khalid (0.5), Shaun Tristan Joseph (0.5).
Hubli Tigers: K.C. Cariappa (7.2), Pravin Dubey (5.8), Manish Pandey (10.6), Luvnith Sisodia (7.1), K.L. Shrijith (2.1), Mohammed Taha (2.5), Vidhwath Kaverappa (6.7), M.B. Darshan (2), M.B. Shivam (0.5), Naga Bharath (1.3), Santokh Singh (0.5), B.A. Mohith (0.55), L. Manvanth Kumar (0.6), Mitrakant Singh Yadav (0.25), G. Malliksab (0.25), Nathan D’ Mello (0.25), Rakshekar Harikant (0.25), Clement Raju (0.25).
Shivamogga Lions: Abhinav Manohar (15), Shreyas Gopal (7.8), Nihal Ullal (2.1), V. Koushik (5.9), H.S. Sharath (2.6), Kranthi Kumar (3.6), Rohan Kadam (4.7), Shreyas Puranik (0.5, Pranav Bhatia (2.2, Vinay Sagar (0.5), Aditya Somanna (0.5), Adhoksh Hegde (0.5), Pavan Shridi (0.25), Rohan Naveen (0.25), Shivaraj (1.1), K. Rohit Kumar (0.25), Nischith Rao (0.5), Deepak Devadiga (0.25).
Mysore Warriors: Karun Nair (6.8), J. Suchith (8.4), Prasidh Krishna (7.4), Shoaib Manager (1), R. Samarth (2.9), C.A. Karthik (4.2), Manoj Bhandage (9), M. Venkatesh (4.1), Tushar Singh (0.5), Kushal Wadhwani (0.5), K. Shashi Kumar (0.5), S. Rakshith (2.1), Shreesha S. Achar (0.25), Monish Reddy (0.55), Aditya Mani (0.25), Gautam Mishra (0.25), Rahul Singh Rawat (0.25), Bharath Dhuri (0.25).
Kalyani Bengaluru Blasters: A. Mithun (5.2), Mayank Agarwal (14), T. Pradeep (3.5), Mohammed Sarfaraz Ashraf (1.6), Pavan Deshpande (4), Shubhang Hegde (4.3), D. Nishchal (1.3), Vidyadhar Patil (7), Jeshwanth Acharya (2.1), E.J. Jasper (0.5), L.R. Kumar (1.1), Mohsin Khan (0.5), Aashish Mahesh (0.5), Rishi Bopanna (0.7), Suraj Ahuja (0.25), Aaron Christie (0.25), Abhishek Ahlawat (0.5), Aman Khan (0.5).
Mangaluru Dragons: Ronit More (4.6), Krishnappa Gowtham (6.6), K.V. Siddharth (4.4), Nikin Jose (7), B.R. Sharath (3.2), Prateek Jain (3), Anirudha Joshi (3), Rohan Patil (3.7), Gaurav Dhiman (1), B.U. Shivakumar (1), Thippa Reddy (0.5), Aaditya Nair (1.1), Aditya Goyal (2), Anand Doddamani (0.95), Kruthik Krishna (1.2), M.G. Naveen (1), Dheeraj J. Gowda (0.8), Aneeshwar Gautam (2).
Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment