ITF Men’s Futures: Vishnu Vardhan tames Shahbaaz Khan

Third seed Vishnu Vardhan defeated Shahbaaz Khan 6-4, 6-7 (5), 6-4 to reach the quarterfinals of the USD 15,000 ITF men’s Futures Tennis tournament at the CLTA Complex in Chandigarh.

Published : Feb 15, 2017 19:20 IST , Chandigarh

Vishnu Vardhan will face seventh seed Sidharth Rawat in the next round.
Vishnu Vardhan will face seventh seed Sidharth Rawat in the next round.

Vishnu Vardhan will face seventh seed Sidharth Rawat in the next round.

Third seed Vishnu Vardhan had to battle his way past Shahbaaz Khan 6-4, 6-7(5), 6-4 in the pre-quarterfinals of the USD 15,000 ITF men's Futures tennis tournament at the CLTA Complex on Wednesday. The 29-year-old Vishnu, who had endured a tough first round against qualifier Paramveer Bajwa, put up a high quality fare. He served 21 aces and did not commit a double fault.

Moreover, Vishnu faced only one breakpoint in the whole match, in the tenth game of the first set before he served it out. He could have made it a more straightforward affair but for converting only two of 11 breakpoints that he forced. Shahbaaz competed hard and fired 11 aces but was handicapped by 11 double-faults. In the quarterfinals, Vishnu will face seventh seed Sidharth Rawat.

The other quarterfinals will be between top seed Yuki Bhambri and Sanam Singh, Haadin Bava versus fourth seed Sasi Kumar Mukund apart from second seed Sriram Balaji and Siddharth Vishwakarma. In doubles, however, top seeds Vishnu Vardhan and Sriram Balaji were beaten in the quarterfinals by Mateusz Terczynski of Poland and Jose Fco. Vidal Azorin of Spain 10-6 in the super tie-break.

The results

Singles (pre-quarterfinals): Yuki Bhambri bt Aryan Goveas 6-3, 6-3; Sanam Singh bt Niki Poonacha 6-2, 6-2; Vishnu Vardhan bt Shahbaaz Khan 6-4, 6-7(5), 6-4; Sidharth Rawat bt PC Vignesh 7-5, 3-6, 6-2; Haadin Bava bt Shane Vinsant (US) 6-2, 6-4; Sasi Kumar Mukund bt Jui-Chen Hung (Tpe) 6-3, 6-4; Siddharth Vishwakarma bt Dhruv Sunish 6-3, 3-6, 6-3; Sriram Balaji bt Rishabh Sharda 6-3, 6-3.

First round : Aryan Goveas bt Pirmin Hanele (Ger) 7-5, 6-1; Sanam Singh bt Karunuday Singh 7-6(2), 6-3; Niki Poonacha bt Jose Fco. Vidal Azorin (Esp) 7-5, 7-6(5); Vishnu Vardhan bt Paramveer Singh Bajwa 5-7, 6-1, 7-6(6); Shahbaaz Khan bt Rishab Agarwal 2-6, 6-4, 7-6(5); PC Vignesh bt Adil Kalyanpur 6-3, 7-6(7); Sidharth Rawat bt Mohit Mayur 6-4, 6-4; Shane Vinsant bt Vijay Sundar Prashanth 6-1, 6-3; Haadin Bava bt Dalwinder Singh 2-6,, 7-6(5), 7-6(4); Sasikumar Mukund bt Mateusz Terczynski (Pol) 4-6, 6-3, 6-4; Siddharth Vishwakarma bt Timur Khabibulin (Kaz) 6-1, 7-5; Rishabh Sharda bt Anirudh Chandrasekar 6-2, 6-4.

Doubles (quarterfinals): Mateusz Terczynski (Pol) & Jose Fco. Vidal Azorin (Esp) bt Sriram Balaji & Vishnu Vardhan 7-5, 3-6, 10-6; Primin Haenle (Ger) & Shane Vinsant (US) bt Mohit Mayur & Kaza Vinayak Sharma 6-4, 2-6, 10-4; Adil Kalyanpur & Sasi Kumar Mukund bt Haadin Bava & Shahbaaz Khan 7-6(4), 3-6, 10-6; Vijay Sundar Prashanth & Sanam Singh bt Ishaque Eqbal & Anurag Nenwani 6-4, 6-1.

Sign in to unlock all user benefits
  • Get notified on top games and events
  • Save stories to read later
  • Access to comment on every story
  • Sign up / manage to our newsletters with a single click
  • Get notified by email for early bird access to discounts & offers to our products
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment