Jasprit Bumrah returns to the Indian team for the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka (T20) and Australia in January. In-form opener and vice-captain Rohit Sharma has been rested for the T20 series against Sri Lanka. Shikhar Dhawan finds a place in both the teams while Mohammad Shami will not figure in the T20 series against Sri Lanka.

India will meet Sri Lanka in three T20Is from January 5 and Australia in three ODIs from January 14.

READ| Many layers to NCA-Bumrah fitness episode

Bumrah had suffered a stress fracture and is reportedly fit enough to test his recovery in Gujarat’s forthcoming Ranji Trophy match. According to selection committee chairman MSK Prasad, “Sanju Samson will be the back-up opener in the T20 series. Against Australia, we have all three openers in the team – Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul.”

Seamers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Deepak Chahar went out of reckoning on account of injuries. “Deepak was doing well as he played the Vijay Hazare Trophy but aggravated his back injury in the second ODI in Visakhapatnam,” Prasad added.

On the availability of all-rounder Hardik Pandey, the chief selector said they would test him in the third week of January for a possible comeback in the series against New Zealand from January 24.

READ| Many layers to NCA-Bumrah fitness episode

Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, who will be the 16th member for the ODI series against Australia, and Khaleel Ahmed will continue to be in the scheme of things for the season.